We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stink of Sewage and Horrible Plumbing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Stink of Sewage and Horrible Plumbing”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I can't say many nice things about this hotel but I will attempt to justify how I gave it 2/5 instead of 0/5. First the rooms and hotel lounge look very posh. It's definitely a trendy and fun hotel. It is also walking distance to the Rosebank mall for shopping and meals. The area around the hotel is safe to walk a few blocks as well.

Now onto why you should think twice before booking this hotel . First the entire floor smells of sewage. That's probably because the plumbing does not work. I traveled with a big group and it seems that everyone had various plumbing issues. Ours included a non-flushing toilet a non-draining bath tub. Waking up to the smell of everyone's sewage is absolutely disgusting! We complained the first morning and they said they would look into it. After an entire day of meetings, I come back to the same problems. They say they will look into it, but that just means they do nothing about it.

On top of that, as a business hotel, I figure that they would have functioning alarm clocks or wake up calls, Their alarm clocks often lose power so you can't trust them. On top of that their wake up calls didn't always come through so I almost missed a morning meeting.

The elevators are extremely slow and don't work half the time. You're better off taking the stairs.

Lastly, I'm a Priority Club Gold member and generally I'm guaranteed a 2 category upgrade. Upon check in they told me they couldn't accomodate it because I didn't physically make the booking myself. What difference does it make that I book it versus someone who I hire to book it for me? I went back again the next day to talk to another manager and again, they said they would look into it but nothing got done when I returned from my meetings. It's horrible how they treat their Gold members. I can hardly imagine how they treat regular clients.

In summary if you HAD to stay in the Rosebank, please stay at the Grace Hotel across the street. My friends stayed there and it's a 5/5 rating. They even sent a security guard to walk over to get me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

I was most concerned to learn of the events during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg! I can assure you that the plumbing and sewage issues you and your group members experienced were incidental and not reflect the product standard we offer to all of our guests.

Unfortunately, we had to inform you that no upgrade options were available at the hotel on the dates you were staying at the hotel due to bookings from other Priority Club members bookings who were given priority in advance during room allocations due to the fact they booked through PC and a qualifying rate. We do hope you enjoyed all other PC benefits offered at the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us, and for bringing this matter to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General Manager Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    287
    99
    34
    24
See reviews for
50
109
50
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I loved the quirky touches in the reception and bar area of this hotel, and found the service excellent. Every staff member I made eye contact with went out of their way to say good morning/good afternoon.

I'm a bit puzzled by some of the comments on here - or maybe I was just lucky? I had no problem at all with noise levels in my room. The bathroom wasn't large, but I can't say it struck me as being too small - there was a very nice shower, all modern facilities, and I certainly didn't found I needed more space. The wifi was slow but fine - I booked airline tickets without a problem.

The room service menu was a bit limited for me as a vegetarian, but the meals I ordered came promptly and were well presented and nicely cooked.

As I walked out of the hotel to leave, I remember thinking to myself that I felt I had been extremely well-looked after. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Short note of appriciation from the entire team at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg! We look forward welcoming you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Nicely located trendy hotel, excellent food at the restaurant, however rooms are noisy (I could hear my next door neighbours tv as if it was in my room) and cleaning staff not very discreet in the corridor despite the numerous DND signs on the doors.
Apart from that, a pleasant enough 24 hour stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtadxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Guest, I can assure you that the level of discretion of our housekeeping team has been noted and will be addressed accordingly. Thank you helping us to improve our service levels!

Hope to see you soon in the trendy Rosebank area, at the trendy Crowne Plaza Johannesburg!

At your service,

Allang Clingham - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

excellent hotel - staff great - all very friendly - willing to offer an assistance - knowlegeable about the area and roads - breakfast selection outstanding - breakfast staff delightful - front office team very professional - very central, and a safe hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDHowell38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Quick thank you from all of us! Thrilled to hear our team has managed to live up to your expectations! Hope to see you soon again at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg.

Yours sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Service was exemplary in all areas, on check in I was warmly welcomed back (being my second stay), room service was delivered on time and by a friendly waitress who introduced herself by name, food was well presented and hot. Breakfast buffet had plenty on offer and waitrons were on top form offering coffee refills and hot toast. The gym was well equipped and the security and comfort were all 5star plus.......couldn't get better in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicPr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your "all round" excellent comments. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will definitely share your review with the entire team.

See you soon at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg!

At your service,

Allan Clingham - General Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is my third time staying here and it is growing on me.

Despite a platinum card, this is the first time that I've been upgraded. The rooms before were adequate but nothing special and a bit small. This time, they upgraded me to a suite. Like the downstairs of the hotel, it was all early seventies retro, complete with purple shag rug. I really like it but a colleague who visited me was appalled.

The beds are very comfortable as you would expect. It's a pity that they haven't installed the devices that force bedroom doors to close slowly as the noise from the corridor can intrude. They also need to tell the friendly staff to keep it quiet in the corridors.

Unlike many Jo'burg hotels, this one is really well-run: efficient, reliable service from friendly people who seem genuinely interested in making your stay comfortable.

The gym is small (five pieces of cardio equipment; a very high tech cable multi gym and some freeweights. It's not grear but it's well maintained and adequate for a short stay. There's a much bigger one nearby where you can pay by the day.

The Wifi voucher system is irritating (you need to get a new voucher for each 24 hours and it must be physically delivered). The speed is good by South African standards but that's not saying much -- the joys of a monopoly telecoms provider.

The hotel is in the middle of Rosebank -- a short walk to the shopping mall and it will soon be a short walk to the Gautrain station (the line is due to open in July 2012). That will make it about 25 minutes by train (with one change) from O.R. Tambo. At the moment, it's about 15 minutes to the Sandton station. The hotel can be a bit over-insistent on you using their own cars rather than taxis from the street -- no doubt they'll say it's for safety but it can lead to delays if you don't pre-book.

A good hotel with nice people. I'll definitely be back

Room Tip: Look for the seventies retro suites -- very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_2009, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Sir

Greeting from a not so sunny South africa and the staff from the Crowne Plaza- The Rosebank.

Your comments have been noted and sent through to the relevant departments.

I am glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay and lok forward to welcoming you back to your suite again soon

Yours in hospitality
Bronwen Stead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

A luxury hotel with all the services and amenities you can imagine, with spa, business center, cafe, restaurant, travel desk and shop. But everything is ridiculously over priced (example: washing one panty costs 15 rand!). Excellent staff and close to the Rosebank Mall, where they have a good African Market. Also located right across a police station and next to a medical clinic, which is very useful as I fell sick while there.

It was a disappointment that there was no swimming pool which one can swim in there, as the one they have is very small. And for that price they could at least have offered free internet!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_2009, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Madam

Greetings from a chilly Crowne plaza-The Rosebank. Great to hear you enjoyed the services and atmosphere at our beautiful hotel.

Your higlighted comments regarding laundry prices has ben sent to our outsourced laundry company for their review.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Bronwen Stead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
393 reviews
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
667 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Property: Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing