We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing experience”
Review of Villa Schreiner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Schreiner
Ranked #33 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location of the villa is good, the rooms are okay and there is a very nice garden.
At first glance the interieur looks modern but if you look closer everything is a bit old and not so clean. In the morning they don't serve the full english breakfast that is mentioned. Both mornings the bread was frozen and nothing is really fresh.
At arrival we could join in for a braai. The salads were good, the meat somewhat dry. At the dinnertable a nice conversation amongst guests turned into an awkward political discussion because of the dominant presence of the owner, Michiel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marieke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

Villa Schreiner and its owner Michiel epitomizes what hospitality should be all about. From the moment I arrived to the day I left I felt welcome and at home. To top this the excellent service, well appointed rooms and the huge garden with its chill areas, beautiful lawns and sparkling pool makes this the ideal home away from home for everyone from businessman to families. I can without hesitation recommend Villa Scheiner and categorically state that this was easily the best value for money I have experienced for a very long time.

Room Tip: Just ask Michiel, he will ensure that you stay in a room that fits your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohanHuisamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa Schreiner for 2 weeks whilst having medical treatment at a local clinic. We needed somewhere quiet and relaxing. Michiel (the owner) made us feel so welcome. He arranged an airport pick-up for us and showed us the best places to eat locally.
Our room was large and comfortable and well equipped with a lovely view of the large garden with its pool and the gorgeous "summer house" which was a joy to sit in.
The B&B is in a residential area and about 20 minutes walk from Douglasdale centre which has restaurants, bars and supermarkets. It is just across the road from Jukskei Park with its charming river.
Michiel has been in the tourism business for many years and runs a business organising safaris. We needed a few days away and he kindly organised a superb trip for us and booked the accommodation and organised a Hire Car that was delivered to us at the B&B. He event lent us his SatNav !
All in all, if you are looking for a good value, friendly, relaxing place to stay then we recommedn you consider Villa Schriener.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Waters806084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have lodged at Villa Schreiner multiple times over the past 9 months when visiting South Africa. I travel to Joburg about every other month on business. I discovered Michiel's hide-away while surfing TA and hope I can help others make the same discovery -- just don't be in my room when I am due back in town. I have stayed in all of the rooms at the Villa and discovered that they all have their own special character, comfort and provide a great place to relax away from the bustling city. My favorite place to hang is the Boma where Michiel has thoughtfully provided an honesty bar and relaxing furniture by the pool and garden. It has now become a informal tradition that Michiel prepares a Braai at least one night whenever I visit. I was even able to bring along 3 of my business colleagues on the last trip -- they all wanted to know how I found such a delightful place. I will also mention the wifi is strong, the coffee is delicious, the staff are very competent -- and the dog is happy to see me. The location is in a nice neighborhood and close to a small park. oh -- one more thing -- great breakfast choices too. Ciao

Room Tip: I've stayed in all the rooms -- all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsteele211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a great time in Villa Schreiner, thanks to the unmatched hospitality of the Dutch host and owner Micheal Schreiner. The superior room is great, and our children loved Michael and his place. The pool and the garden is terrific, very quiet, big and beautiful. The breakfast is very varied and tastful with for example fruit, yoghurt, eggs any style, bacon, vegetables, toast, breadrolls. We could order what we liked! Michael gave a lot of information about things to do. A big shoppingmal, great restaurants and the highway are just 5 minutes away. So it is very easy to reach the airport. A great relaxed place to stay in Joh’burg!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolienLeusden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Villa Schreiner is a very friendly, clean and hospitable B&B. We feel familiar during our 14 days stay. Michiel Schreiner gave us such nice tips for shopping areas, restaurants and not forgetting for a unforgettable safari. With no hesitation we can recommend this lovely b&b!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Had a wonderful time, the room was beautifully clean and a good size for our 2 toddlers and my husband and I, the bathroom was amazing too. Breakfast was delicious and the location extremely handy for us visiting friends. Michael didn't mind us having friends visiting in the evenings and although we were worried about staying in a B&B with 2 young toddlers he was very accommodating. I can thoroughly recommend this as somewhere to stay in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.5 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
22.6 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#17 of 298 in Johannesburg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#25 of 298 in Johannesburg
120 reviews
10.7 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#37 of 298 in Johannesburg
69 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Schreiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schreiner

Address: 2, Saffier Street | Jukskei Park, Johannesburg 2165, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $40 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Schreiner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owner from November 2014. Only 8 minutes from Fourways Mall and the famous Montecasino, 6 min from Olivedale Clinic, 12 min from the Coca Cola Dome and Sandton Medi-Clinic and 20 min from Sandton City, Villa Schreiner guest house under thatch is situated in the quiet residential suburb of Jukskei Park. Five beautiful, individually decorated rooms overlook the large beautiful tropical garden and pool and the Family Studio for 7 people has its own separate entrance, large living room and private large outside patio and bar area. Flat Screen TV, DSTV in every room and free Wireless Internet on property. A full English and continental breakfast is served outside on the sun patio or in the formal dining room. Villa Schreiner welcomes you to enjoy a warm hospitality, personal charm & true tranquility. There are two excellent gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop,5 Take away shops and boutique shops at the Douglasdale Shopping Centre, only five minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Schreiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing