We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Cozy guesthouse in Melville (a nice suburb of Joberg) walking distance from a street full of restaurants, bars, and shops. The staff was great - they arranged airport pick-up / drop-off and a tour of Soweto. The breakfast was delicious and the day we left early for a Pilansberg safari the staff left us a cold breakfast. The room was well-stocked, clean, and the bed was beyond comfortable. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    79
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
76
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have just returned from South Africa and wanted to write a review on this wonderful guest house.
I stayed at the beginning of a trip with family and then at the end on my own. Each time I was really impressed with the standard of service offered by the owner, her son and the staff.
Nothing was too much trouble. We took advantage of the tours on offer and had a couple of very informative days carried out by the owner son.
The rooms are of very generous size and tastefully decorated. I loved the iron and hairdryer that are provided, a godsend.
I really want to go back to South Africa and I know I will rebook Ginnegapp. Melville area is lovely with many eating options and shopping near by. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I had a most enjoyable stay at Ginnegaap Guest House. We spent one night there before we went on a three day safari at the Kruger Park and a second night when we returned. We were able to leave our suitcases there while we were away which was very convenient. Both of our rooms were very comfortable, huge beds with lovely bed linen and nice towells and toileteries. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and we were able to eat outside in the beautiful garden. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. The location was superb for visiting bohemian 7th Street with it's trendy bars and restaurants. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to visit Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydenburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My business trip wat in JHB CBD, and wanted a place nearby but safe.
And what a lovely vibe in the street with resturants neerby.
Guesthouse is stunning!!!
Would definitely recommend Ginnegaap.
Thanks
Charmaine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charmaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went to the Holi One festival at the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens at Emmarentia Dam. Thought the festivities will continue into the night, so I booked a room close by as I was too lazy to drive back to Pretoria (80km).

Plus:
I could check in at 10:00 instead of 13:00. Yummy hot breakfast, great selection. Nice garden to relax in the sun. Lovely toiletries.

Some improvements:
Room number 1 has a nice view of the porch and the garden, but it is at the entrance door, so a bit noisy with all the guests coming and going. I could also hear the guests walking, coughing and talking in the room next to mine. So bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Also pack an eye mask due to the lights on the porch in the evening. .

Room Tip: Not room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton On Hudson, New York, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed there while on business and it was great to relax at this B&B with its bohemian feel, amazing staff, clean rooms, good food, and only a short walk from the heart of Melville. I plan to stay there again for my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MagdaD519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay in Ginnegaap guesthouse. The room I had chosen was perhaps not one the best, but the services, the ambiance and the position make it a very intelligent choice for one who desires to spend some days in the splendid Melville area of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#9 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#7 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Property: Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing