We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ginnegaap Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 277 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent guesthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at Ginnegaap was a perfect start to a 2 week solo trip in South Africa. I stayed for a night here when I first arrived to Joburg in mid-December 2012, and was very happy to be here. I loved the decor - the guesthouse is lovely, very safe, clean, charming, and comfortable. My room was simple, sweet, and clean, with a homey feel. They are a half-hour drive from the JNB airport towards other attractions (for which they have tours available!), and they arrange for a shuttle if you ask. The breakfast was good, and Corlien, Jacco and staff were warm hosts. I was sad they were booked up on my way back through Johannesburg, or I'd have stayed with them again.

Room Tip: The front room looks out onto the front porch and yard. It is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    74
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
72
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in Ginnegaap Guesthouse in December 2012. I had a great room which began to feel like my own personal studio appartment...hence i decided to extend my stay. Breakfasts were great aswell as the coffee in the room! Staff were incredibly accomodating and friendly. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank lau855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so nice to see that our efforts to be helpful and to prepare great breakfasts are being noticed by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I very much enjoyed my visit to Johannesburg, S. Africa. Concerns of travelling solo were abated by the sense of safety I felt at the guesthouse. The lovely older home is very well kept and very clean. Breakfasts by Patience were top notch. Issues with charging my electronics were taken to heart and addressed by a ride to the IT specialist on 7th street. In 3+ days, with Jaco, tour guide/driver, I got a full view of many aspects of Johannesburg, including a design twist to accomodate my particular interests. The room and bath were simple and well furnished with nice touches incl tea, an iron, a hair dryer, and a private outdoor garden. I highly recommend the Ginnegaap Guest House.

Room Tip: no fitness center or pool. an easy walk to 2 main streets w/ shops and restaurants. they even have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very good find the room was large and comfortable staff very friendly. Tomas and Corileen were great . We enjoyed a brilliant day out with Jacob On a tour of Soweto and the inner city very informative highly recommended. Breakfasts were to die for .Melville 7th street 5mins walk good selection of bars and restaurants. Will definitely return a great start to a great holiday . Thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are so glad that you had a good experience at Ginnegaap and that you enjoyed our rooms, service and breakfast. Nothing is as important to us as a happy guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only spent one night at this nice guesthouse in Jo`burg and really enjoyed it as fantastic start in our south africa holidays with the warm and welcoming greeting from one of the staff, called patience:)
The guesthouse has nice and charming rooms and everything is very clean.
We also enjoyed the extensive breakfast with the lovely viev of the nice garden with all its nice flowers and please also try the omelet, only recommended:) The district melville in Jo´burg is safe and pretty nice and also suitable for nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Ginnegaap is a lovely guesthouse in Melville. The staff was very helpful and the morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFernandez40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I liked the spacious, well-appointed rooms and the cooked breakfasts. The staff was very helpful and gave me lots of good suggestions on what to see and do. I was a bit surprised by the number of keys I had to carry around (four) but this is probably a necessary evil in Johannesburg!

Room Tip: The rooms in the building at the back of the section are larger and more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiasTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.8 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 74 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#2 of 277 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#4 of 277 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#3 of 277 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Property: Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing