We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great staff, great location, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2011

i stayed in jo'burg between a business trip to the congo and a leisure trip to malawi, and was very pleased with finding the ginnegaap. like other reviewers i was so thankful to corlien for her prompt and helpful service/advice. the guesthouse is situated in a lovely little garden and i was charmed by the old details inside of the house. it's tastefully furnished and feels secure and welcoming. the complimentary breakfast is wonderful. lastly, the neighborhood around it is pleasant and welcoming with bookstores, cafes, and restaurants... a neighborhood with much more character and warmth than sandton. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicholas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 252 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

Two friends and I stayed at the Ginnegaap in October. We wanted to be in Melville, a little further away from downtown. It took about 40 minutes by cab from the airport. We really enjoyed our stay! Corleen, the owner was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed Thomas, an employee there with a great sense of humor. We had our own little apartment with a kitchen at a very reasonable price. Everything was clean, modern and nicely decorated. A generous cooked to order breakfast was on offer in the morning, plus tea in the room. Corleen stored our luggage for us while we went on safari in Kruger park which was very helpful. It was a great experience overall and I would definitely recommend staying there next time you are traveling to Joburg.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I would definitely recommend this great geusthouse. Corlien and her staff are very nice abd very helpful, which is very nice an a city with a reputation as Jo'burg.

The rooms are great. I stayed in the cheapest one but it was a pretty, big and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieneke86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ginnegaap for 4 days, 3 nights. The purpose of our trip was the 2010 World Cup. While other B&Bs and hotels (particularly in Sandton) were raising their rates into the stratosphere, the Ginnegaap only raised their rates a modest amount.
We decided to stay in Melville because we thought that the area would provide a stimulating environment for the World Cup with local bars, restaurants and nightclubs within easy walking distance of the Ginnegaap. While the area itself was a bit of a letdown from a festive point of view, the Ginnegaap did not disappoint.

The Ginnegaap is located in a residential neighbourhood on a a street with low to moderate vehicle traffic. The room we had came with it's own separate entrance and included an ensuite bathroom. The room itself was very clean and well laid out. Like most people travelling and staying in Johannesburg, safety and security is an ongoing concern and priority. The Ginnegaap takes great care in providing an environment that is free of stress and security concerns. There is locked, gated access to both the property and rooms as well as a night guard who overseas the property.
The breakfast portion of this B&B was fantastic. There are cereals, fruit, coffee, tea, yogurt and other items available. In addition, there is a mini menu from which to place your made to order hot portion of your breakfast.
Correspondence with the Ginnegaap was promptly replied to within 24hrs. Corlien helped arrange transportation from the airport to the Ginnegaap and was quick to repsond to any questions that we had prior to our arrival.
We would definitely recommend the Ginnegaap to others who wish to stay in a comfortable, friendly and convenient location while visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My first time to S. Africa could not have started off any better. The Ginnegaap Guest House was accommodating in every way when I was making my reservation slightly last minute. Due to the holidays, most people were in Cape Town and there was only one other couple staying while I was here.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and they make an excellent breakfast. They also have free wifi. It's very close to local shopping and is situated in a residential area so I felt quite safe here. I totally recommend this place and would stay again next time I head to Jozi!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYNeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank H40Landes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 305 in Johannesburg
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 305 in Johannesburg
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 305 in Johannesburg
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#56 of 305 in Johannesburg
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#9 of 305 in Johannesburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $72 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House operates from a charming cottage-style house in Melville, one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing