We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and location”
Review of Agterplaas B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agterplaas B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent three nights in the lovely large double bedroom with the claw foot bathtub. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond to provide information and answers to our questions about the local area and broader region. The location is fantastic - the private pathway to 7th avenue is great - there are lots if fantastic restaurants, bars and eclectic shops on the short strip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilds282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 139 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice, quet b&b although in the middle of Melville. You have quick access to 7th avenue (= restaurants etc.) via back gate. Very nice breakfast, wi-fi, excellent service from friendly staff (especially the waitress/chef with her incredible smile). Clean room, fresh towels. I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: rooms 1-3, they have sliding doors as separate entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been to “Die Agterplaas” first in 2007, we liked the place, so we decided to sleep again there for our 2 night-stay in Joburg at the end of our safari in South Africa in August 2013.
The B&B is located in Melville, a nice area with several restaurants and pubs.
Rooms are very cozy and clean (ours had king size bed) and there is a safe inside, the dining room - where breakfast is served - is lovely!
Jannie, the owner, is a musician, he’s very welcoming and kind. All the staff is very kind as well.
Breakfast is delicious, with a very wide choice of food to be ordered (waiting time: no more than 5 minutes!) and a buffet with cereals, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, …. They even make 2-3 kind of fresh home-made bread.
If you ask in advance you can have dinner there, we pre-booked our dinner and Badia, the in-house chef, cooked for us a delicious starter with avocado and tuna, bobotie with sambals and chutney (the best I’ve eaten in my life) as main course and a yummy milky tart for dessert.
It’s a lovely place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flafla_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found ourselves in Johannesburg, coming in from Harare on business, and needed accommodation for an additional few days when our trip was extended. By chance we came upon this excellent place. The accommodation, welcome, breakfast and general standard is of a level you will not find elsewhere. This place is also excellent value for money and you will not find finer in Johannesburg and I will vouch certain for that.
The owners have furnished their premises with a beautiful, old style, antique charm, but with all mod-cons. The staff are superb and the owners lovely.
We travel regularly to South Africa and have stayed in many places. This is a gem!
Two very minor criticisms:
Can we have a simpler key system?
You must improve broadband internet access.
Excellent in every respect

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been going to Die Agterplaas for the last four or five years and have always found it good value, comfortable and easy-going. Breakfasts are excellent. Rooms are a good size, some with nice views of Melville Koppies (hills). The staff are helpful and know the whole city very well, so they will give you tips about where to eat, what to see etc. You sometimes get to meet locals whos drop in for breakfast. The place has two entrances: the main one is on 6th Avenue but you also get a key to a gate opening straight onto 7th Street, which is where all the bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWilkes1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the end of our south african trip. Needed a Sat Nav to find it but worth it. Lovely greeting from Richard who filled us in on everything we needed to know! Quaint house full of antiques and with a homely old fashion look but comfortable and breakfast was good. Its advantage is being in Melville which is a lovely lively suburb and the restaurants and bars are on the doorstep. Ate a wonderful meal in Lucky Bean just across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a lovely B and B with very comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfasts. It is two minutes to walk to Melville,s main street with all it's shops and cafes. My only criticism would be the trip we were sold to Soweto which was e pensive short and rather stuffy. Other than that an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 67 in Johannesburg
350 reviews
3.2 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 123 in Johannesburg
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 300 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#160 of 300 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 123 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agterplaas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agterplaas B&B

Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: $76 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agterplaas B&B is a piece of countryside in the heart of Johannesburg. We are a hundred meters from " 7de laan’s" boutiques, book stores, pubs and restaurants, but supper can also be enjoyed by appointment where we overlook the Melville “Koppies”. We are centrally situated - close to UJ, Wits, Helen Joseph- and Milpark-hospitals, Mediapark and the SABC, with a bus route close by. Airport and Gautrain transfers are available on request at competitive prices. There is also the Melville E-Tuk Tuk for short trips – even as fasr as the Rosebank Gautrain Station. Our rooms are all en suite with wi fi internet access, backed up by a 24-hour helpline. We offer a bouquet of DSTV – channels, complimentary cool drinks and coffee/tea facilities and our rooms are equipped with heaters and fans. Our motto is old-world tranquility and affordable comfort. In general we are disabled-friendly but one of our units and a kitchen facility are geared specifically to accommodate guests in wheelchairs. We have partners in the hospitality and tourism trade in Johannesburg including with a conference facility directly opposite our premises and a Soweto-guide of the highest order. Furthermore we have in house know-how in the organizing of informative, adventure or gallivanting tours in South-Africa. When we need to accommodate groups bigger than our own capacity, we have close connections with other guesthouses in our immediate vicinity. Our tariffs for groups and also for longer stays are always negotiable, depending on availability. A special discount applies to educational institutions Apart from a full variety of vegetarian and warm breakfasts for our sleepover guests, we are faithfully supported by regulars from our vicinity - including people of the media and arts – from as early as 06h00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing