We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood. Friendly staff. Clean & Safe.”
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #24 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood. Friendly staff. Clean & Safe.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is adorable and makes one feel at home in a foreign, notoriously dangerous city.

Firstly, we narrowed our search to Melville after we dismissed Jozi proper because of safety issues and had no interest in the more manufactured suburbs like Melrose, et al. Melville hit the sweet spot--- a hip little artistic area with a main street of shops walkable from Life on 3rd where families live and the streets are lined with mature trees. It also has 'Service Station' within a 5 minute drive which is a great weekend destination with a gallery, farmer's market and antique shops.

When we arrived, we were greeted by very helpful and accommodating staff, who even personally lent us 100 Rand to get back from dinner by cab (we had just arrived in SA and had no Rand on us). We parked our car on the premises without issue. There were security guards stationed throughout the neighborhood, admittedly, a slightly disarming thing to see at first, but we came to understand that the safer neighborhoods have 24 hour surveillance.

The rooms themselves were clean and bright and they all opened onto a common courtyard in the rear of the house. We asked about laundry service in the morning, and by the time we returned in the afternoon, our clothes were returned to our room at a nominal extra cost. All guests ate breakfast at a communal table in the main house in the mornings--- guests from Cape Town, Durban, Amsterdam, Mumbei, Melbourne all chatted over eggs made to order with bacon, toast, coffee and juice about their previous day and what they're plans were for the one ahead. We often got helpful advice about Jozi and Cape Town over breakfast from other travelers.

This is an adorable B&B and I would stay here again without questions.

NB: All that said, all of Jo'burg is not 'safe' in the conventional sense of the word and I would highly suggest you keep your wits about you and listen to the suggestions from the locals. As an example, we comfortably walked to dinner on 7th, just a few blocks away while there was light out--- we returned by cab along the same route after dark. Though we drove throughout almost all of Jozi, we did not roll down our windows, nor did we drive ourselves at night--- even the cab drivers blow through red lights at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaynaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    48
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
47
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Jo'burg for two years now and am on my way to Cape Town. I heard about Life on 3rd from a friend of mine. I stayed for two nights and it was great. It's safe and beautiful. My room was always clean and the staff are friendly and warm. I think for whatever reason you are comig I jozie whether your moving, visiting or just want to see a different space Life on 3rd is the right place too be.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in Joburg, regardless of the reason, it would be hard to go wrong with any guest house in Melville. Not only is the area charming and safe, but it is a great central location for exploring all corners of the city.

For the value and service, Life on 3rd is certainly one of the jewels in this neighborhood. Among the positive features:
-Warm, nourishing breakfast, served at a common table that allows for meeting other guests.
-Prompt service, with staff readily available to assist before and during my stay.
-Reliable, friendly and flexible driving service for those who don't hire a car (it's easy to see why the house's main driver, Bigboy, is somewhat of a celebrity)
-Excellent color schemes, with red tones creating a comfortable atmosphere
-Reasonable walking distance to dining and shopping on 7th Street (yes, you can actually walk somewhere in Johannesburg)
-Comfortable beds and common areas

Room Tip: The smallest room felt a bit too cozy at times. It's probably worth it to aim for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I planned to stay two nights but needed to stay five to take care of business. The staff helped me to find the services I needed even bringing a mechanic to the guesthouse to take care of a car problem. The room and place was neat clean and the breakfasts very good. The Melville location is superb in a lovely quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsywoman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was rained and cold when we arrived that afternoon. Lydia and her teamwork were very friendly providing 7 of us with not only clean rooms but also spread out family touched in their services especially to whom just become a mother of 3 weeks baby at the time of the trip to Joburg. English breakfast served every morning during our stay and hot water for tea and coffee ready at all times. The price were excellent. The neighbourhoud is safe and quite. However we experienced a bit difficulty to find the house, after couple phone call directed our driver, we found the red door. If I may suggest the sign name of Life on 3rd guesthouse need to be clearer to the eyes :-) Still Life on 3rd guesthouse is highly recommended to stay for those first time to Joburg to experience the African hospitality.

Room Tip: During raining/winter season, please remind the staff to provide you with umbrella as some rooms sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsia3weeksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've found the accommodation to be adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lack of proper parking facilities i.e. a max of 5 parking spaces available was very frustating. Very noisy especially the rooms above the common areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlenieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Manager at Life on 3rd, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Charlenie - Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and friendliness. Regarding the parking: I believe after you checked in and left again, you came in after 1:00 am. Your original parking space was taken by somebody else, but we still provided secure parking space for you inside the property (6 parking bays) All our guests already retired for the evening and the guesthouse was quiet when you went to bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved time we spend in Life on 3rd in Johannesburg-
South Africa.
Their place are completelly safe and quiet.

We found a excelent service.

The attendant is lovely.


They have good accommodation. All are clean and in order. They have good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabetemorandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 295 in Johannesburg
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#11 of 295 in Johannesburg
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#15 of 295 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#38 of 295 in Johannesburg
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Melville Turret Guest House
The Melville Turret Guest House
#48 of 295 in Johannesburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Property: Life on 3rd
Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Life on 3rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing