We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A hidden treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #12 of 278 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Jo'burg for two years now and am on my way to Cape Town. I heard about Life on 3rd from a friend of mine. I stayed for two nights and it was great. It's safe and beautiful. My room was always clean and the staff are friendly and warm. I think for whatever reason you are comig I jozie whether your moving, visiting or just want to see a different space Life on 3rd is the right place too be.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    42
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
44
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in Joburg, regardless of the reason, it would be hard to go wrong with any guest house in Melville. Not only is the area charming and safe, but it is a great central location for exploring all corners of the city.

For the value and service, Life on 3rd is certainly one of the jewels in this neighborhood. Among the positive features:
-Warm, nourishing breakfast, served at a common table that allows for meeting other guests.
-Prompt service, with staff readily available to assist before and during my stay.
-Reliable, friendly and flexible driving service for those who don't hire a car (it's easy to see why the house's main driver, Bigboy, is somewhat of a celebrity)
-Excellent color schemes, with red tones creating a comfortable atmosphere
-Reasonable walking distance to dining and shopping on 7th Street (yes, you can actually walk somewhere in Johannesburg)
-Comfortable beds and common areas

Room Tip: The smallest room felt a bit too cozy at times. It's probably worth it to aim for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I planned to stay two nights but needed to stay five to take care of business. The staff helped me to find the services I needed even bringing a mechanic to the guesthouse to take care of a car problem. The room and place was neat clean and the breakfasts very good. The Melville location is superb in a lovely quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsywoman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was rained and cold when we arrived that afternoon. Lydia and her teamwork were very friendly providing 7 of us with not only clean rooms but also spread out family touched in their services especially to whom just become a mother of 3 weeks baby at the time of the trip to Joburg. English breakfast served every morning during our stay and hot water for tea and coffee ready at all times. The price were excellent. The neighbourhoud is safe and quite. However we experienced a bit difficulty to find the house, after couple phone call directed our driver, we found the red door. If I may suggest the sign name of Life on 3rd guesthouse need to be clearer to the eyes :-) Still Life on 3rd guesthouse is highly recommended to stay for those first time to Joburg to experience the African hospitality.

Room Tip: During raining/winter season, please remind the staff to provide you with umbrella as some rooms sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsia3weeksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've found the accommodation to be adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lack of proper parking facilities i.e. a max of 5 parking spaces available was very frustating. Very noisy especially the rooms above the common areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlenieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Manager at Life on 3rd, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Charlenie - Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and friendliness. Regarding the parking: I believe after you checked in and left again, you came in after 1:00 am. Your original parking space was taken by somebody else, but we still provided secure parking space for you inside the property (6 parking bays) All our guests already retired for the evening and the guesthouse was quiet when you went to bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved time we spend in Life on 3rd in Johannesburg-
South Africa.
Their place are completelly safe and quiet.

We found a excelent service.

The attendant is lovely.


They have good accommodation. All are clean and in order. They have good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabetemorandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Loved everthing about this jewel from the staff lydia u are the best felt like i was in my own home.clean not to mention the breakfast will stay here again in a heart beat.the location is melville with some of the best bars and cafes joburg has to offer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dingani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.0 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#2 of 278 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#3 of 278 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#4 of 278 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#6 of 278 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Property: Life on 3rd
Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Life on 3rd 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing