We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and care”
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #29 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I planned to stay two nights but needed to stay five to take care of business. The staff helped me to find the services I needed even bringing a mechanic to the guesthouse to take care of a car problem. The room and place was neat clean and the breakfasts very good. The Melville location is superb in a lovely quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsywoman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 186 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was rained and cold when we arrived that afternoon. Lydia and her teamwork were very friendly providing 7 of us with not only clean rooms but also spread out family touched in their services especially to whom just become a mother of 3 weeks baby at the time of the trip to Joburg. English breakfast served every morning during our stay and hot water for tea and coffee ready at all times. The price were excellent. The neighbourhoud is safe and quite. However we experienced a bit difficulty to find the house, after couple phone call directed our driver, we found the red door. If I may suggest the sign name of Life on 3rd guesthouse need to be clearer to the eyes :-) Still Life on 3rd guesthouse is highly recommended to stay for those first time to Joburg to experience the African hospitality.

Room Tip: During raining/winter season, please remind the staff to provide you with umbrella as some rooms sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsia3weeksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've found the accommodation to be adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lack of proper parking facilities i.e. a max of 5 parking spaces available was very frustating. Very noisy especially the rooms above the common areas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlenieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Manager at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Charlenie - Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and friendliness. Regarding the parking: I believe after you checked in and left again, you came in after 1:00 am. Your original parking space was taken by somebody else, but we still provided secure parking space for you inside the property (6 parking bays) All our guests already retired for the evening and the guesthouse was quiet when you went to bed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved time we spend in Life on 3rd in Johannesburg-
South Africa.
Their place are completelly safe and quiet.

We found a excelent service.

The attendant is lovely.


They have good accommodation. All are clean and in order. They have good price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabetemorandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Loved everthing about this jewel from the staff lydia u are the best felt like i was in my own home.clean not to mention the breakfast will stay here again in a heart beat.the location is melville with some of the best bars and cafes joburg has to offer

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staffs are very good, guesthouse are clean, but when you have your room far from the reception you dont have WIFI. For complains they dont care.. Local people(guests) make a lot of noise in the house.They dont care if you complain. The area around the house is fine and calm. Had no problems to go out in the evening for lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50reinhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest - thank you for alerting me to this problem. Our IT guy has been alerted to the Wi-Fi problem as well. The Managers at Life on 3rd do their best to control noise levels when groups visit us, but we do apologize that you had to endure the noise. Kind regards. Lize (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Homely, laid back place inside the suburbs of Johannesburg . Nothing too fancy but clean, woodsy, and good staff for a good price.Very casual environment with a "home away from home" feel. Breakfast is decent too.

Room Tip: This is a nice place to END you trip around SA. If you are looking for city fun i wouldn't recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fear_of_flying01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.5 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#3 of 298 in Johannesburg
207 reviews
18.2 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#20 of 298 in Johannesburg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blu Trea
Blu Trea
#22 of 298 in Johannesburg
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#16 of 298 in Johannesburg
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#33 of 298 in Johannesburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $53 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Life on 3rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing