We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool city hangout”
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #26 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a really trendy place that makes you feel right at home. Based in a nice safe area its perfect to explore Jo'burg from and has many good bars and restaurants really near by. The rooms very nice and airy. The décor is really great and the common areas are comfortable and welcoming. Staff were friendly and willing to help with any queries.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnIrishView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great place, great people!
The rooms are confortable, the decoration is charming, the house is beautiful and the service is fantastic. And of course, the breakfest is delicious!
The neighbourhood is quiet and not so far from the street with the best pubs and restaurants and Joberg.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabiolaGrzybowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Can't say enough about this B&B. The rooms are well appointed and the staff are the friendliest people you'll ever meet. I felt like family for the month I was there. The food is delicious and the rooms are cleaned daily. quite possibly the nicest living arrangement I will ever experience.

Room Tip: One of the top floor rooms is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 464NPeterson464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My stay at Life on 3rd was fantastic!! Damien was awesome at helping me get my trip in order. Big Boy was a great driver for the airport transfers and getting us safely to and from the daily excursions. The breakfasts were an delicious way to start the day. I felt right at home during my stay. I cannot tell you how much I appreciated all of the attention and help that I received during my stay in Jo'burg!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank angelguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

On a 21 day visit from the UK we stayed for five nights and loved it. Convenient location, friendly and attentive staff, great breakfasts. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharmabumGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We arrived an hour after check-in time officially closed. Therefore, it is likely we received the worst room. This still doesn't excuse the fact that there was no bathroom door. Instead there is a door directly from the main hallway to the bathroom. This door is secured, but this didn't make me feel any better about the fact that anyone passing by likely could hear our every step while we were in the bathroom. The room was quite small. Late into the night and quite early in the morning you could hear clanging outside the window. This came from an outdoor metal staircase connecting one of the upper level rooms directly with the back of the building.
Breakfast was good and the outdoor patio appeared like it could be a cute place for a cup of tea and the newspaper. The owner, I forget her name, was quite friendly and arranged for a taxi for us. Still, avoid room 2.

Room Tip: avoid room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank occasionaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Room 2 is one of our Standard Rooms. Not too big, not too small. Just right . It has an ensuite bathroom - see pictures. A lot of 5 Star establishments have ensiute bathrooms without doors. I sense a bit of a paranoid personality here - the bathroom floor is a concrete floor, so nobody can 'hear your every step'. The passageway to this room is shared with our nightmanager - no other guests !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I lived at Life on 3rd for one month together with 11 Temple University students. We absolutely loved our stay.
A few of the highlights?
1) The breakfast. It is made with love and care.
2) The pleasant and kind cooks and custodial staff - Aunty Lizzie, Lydia and Beaula.
3) The wonderfully attentive owner and host, Lize.
4) Electric blankets in the winter months. Can you say cozy?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 299 in Johannesburg
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 299 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#33 of 299 in Johannesburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#24 of 299 in Johannesburg
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blu Trea
Blu Trea
#25 of 299 in Johannesburg
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#12 of 299 in Johannesburg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $56 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Life on 3rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing