We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home away from home”
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #21 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's no place like home away from home”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I lived at Life on 3rd for one month together with 11 Temple University students. We absolutely loved our stay.
A few of the highlights?
1) The breakfast. It is made with love and care.
2) The pleasant and kind cooks and custodial staff - Aunty Lizzie, Lydia and Beaula.
3) The wonderfully attentive owner and host, Lize.
4) Electric blankets in the winter months. Can you say cozy?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    48
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
47
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Life on 3rd was a great place to stay at. It felt like a home away from home. The food was delicious, the rooms were all decorated beautifully which added to the welcoming aura, and the ladies worked very hard to make sure that your comfort was always first.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayshay_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aswan
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great location, excellent breakfasts. Damien is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFTraveler301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Damien, the owner: a great guy!
Everything amazing: the rooms, the breakfast, the enviroment, the transportation.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RominaR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I'm not sure I have the words to express how absolutely perfect my week at Life on 3rd was! From the beautifully, romantically, thoughtfully decorated rooms, to the incredible, 3-course, creative and delightful breakfast feasts, to the company of Damien and the ladies, whose energy, enthusiasm and love for their work is infectious, I felt like the centre of attention and completely at home--a beautiful home--during my stay :) Life on 3rd truly has every detail covered, and so thoughtfully--I think I walked away from my business trip feeling as thought I'd spent the week at a spa, rather than at an intense training! Must have been a combination of the super comfy bed and yummy complementary teas! I loved everything about this guest house and will continue to return, again and again, for future business and pleasure trips!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eb921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Life on 3rd during the World Cup. We had our own driver named "Big Boy" that was arranged by the hotel to pick us up and drop us off. He was friendly, knowledgeable and we felt very safe being escorted around with him. The hotel personell were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms were nice and breakfast was always delicious. There was a common dining/living room shared among all guests, which was a nice way to interact with the multi-national guests. Life on Third is walking distance from a strip with trendy, fun restaraunts and bars, and we felt safe walking with a group. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LkyDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We decided for Life on 3rd after reading the amazing reviews here on TripAdvisor.
The guest-house's room might not be the biggest or most luxurious ever, but they are absolutely lovely, very comfortable and completely romantic.
The whole place glows from the happiness and friendliness of the hosts. Damien, as mentioned many times, will do everything he can to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jybkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 295 in Johannesburg
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#10 of 295 in Johannesburg
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#9 of 295 in Johannesburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#35 of 295 in Johannesburg
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#14 of 295 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Property: Life on 3rd
Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Life on 3rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing