We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country space with great rooms and the best open shower” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tintswalo at Waterfall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tintswalo at Waterfall
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Country space with great rooms and the best open shower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great, spacious rooms with the best open shower. Great food and feel like you are in the country after a hard day of business in the hustle & bustle of Jozi

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportshortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
24
4
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

I travel extensively on business and stay at many top class big name hotels around the world. I stayed at the Waterfall Hotel for 3 days and thought the whole experience was one to compare with the very best. It was a welcome oasis from the hustle and bustle of the busy agenda which formed my South African schedule. The accommodation is luxurious and charming but the unprompted service and thoughtfulness of the staff made it a truly memorable experience. On a clear road it is less than 15 minutes drive to Sandton and another 15 minutes to the middle of Johannesburg but sitting on the terrace looking out over the polo ground with Kyalami race circuit in the far distance you could be a million miles away. Great place, lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed in Tintswalo Waterfall for a couple days at the end of our SA holiday to relax and catch up with a few friends and colleagues in and around Joburg.
Everything was really good, from the friendly and efficient service from the front desk to the lovely rooms and bathrooms to the spa and the food in the restaurant. The best part for me was however the setting in the Waterfall Equestrian Estate - it is quiet and secure, but still within easy reach of everything you need or want in Sandton.
Only slight negative is some of the staff, especially in the restaurant, can do with a bit of training on things like the menu and how to serve clients in an environment like this, however what they lack in skill they do make up in enthusiasm and friendliness.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone looking for a relaxing stay in Joburg or a great location for a conference or business meeting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We spent so much money on this hotel, and were disappointed beyond words. Okay, it looks nice, the rooms are spacious, nicely decorated. But that's it. The staff at the front desk is unhelpful and cold. We asked for an international plug, and they "ran out" of them, but of course didn't suggest getting one, even though the hotel is miles away from anything. The location is terrible. The cost charged by the hotel to use the driver is completely ridiculous. Also, we had to cancel a day trip to Pilansberg, three days in advance, and they charged us for 60% of the trip!!! and by the way when I made the reservation, no one said anything about cancellation fees. I loved South Africa and I loved the two other hotels we went to, but this one, the most expensive, was the black spot of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olargues, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

A small group of us (two couples and a single) stayed at Tintswalo following two and a half weeks in the bush in northern Botswana. We chose the hotel for a relaxing interlude prior to our long flights home to North America.

It was a 45 minute ride from Johannesburg Airport; longer than we'd anticipated. Upon arrival we were greeted with champagne (nice) and seated on low sofas to complete check-in paperwork, which we balanced on our knees (not nice). And what paperwork! I didn't sign as many papers when I bought my house! At one point my friends and I, after answering endless, essentially personal questions, put down our pens and said "Enough!"

Our three rooms were spacious, luxurious and offered every amenity. The bathrooms were a dream, with huge walk-in showers and water pressure to equal Victoria Falls. When I phoned for an iron and ironing board a staff member arrived instantly to inquire if she couldn't iron the item for me.

We had arranged a (We are) Out of Africa farewell dinner in the private dining room, located in the cozy wine cellar. The meal was extraordinary; every dish perfection. And the bill was extremely reasonable.

Breakfast was less of a success. We couldn't quite determine what was included in our room rate and what was extra, and the dining staff was unable to offer any guidance. There was only one other table occupied, yet obtaining a cup of coffee seemed a major undertaking. (Had they gone to Kenya for the beans???) We'd scheduled an hour for breakfast prior to our transfer to the airport, but clearly that was not enough time. Hot entrees (basic eggs and bacon) took over 30 minutes to reach our table. All items - once they finally arrived - were delicious, but we wished we didn't have to gobble them down while our limo idled outside the door.

To the hotel's credit, our single friend, whose flight did not leave until late that evening, was graciously offered her room for the whole of the day - at no charge, and without her even asking. THAT'S classy.

Would I stay at Tintswalo again? Probably not, even though it's a beautiful, restful hotel. It has an in-the-middle-of-a-housing-development location; pleasant but uninspiring. (The views of securely walled-in, villa-sized homes with their terra cotta roofs reminded me of California's "Yes, we're rich" Costa Mesa.)

Far from the airport, and far from downtown as well, Tintswalo is a long drive from anywhere. For an overnight between flights, I'd probably choose a hotel closer to the airport - though I'd miss that waterfall shower!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Before booking my stay this hotel seemed to meet all my requirements; Quiet location in the countryside, luxurious, and service oriented. Indeed during my stay it was all these things, but it just didn't seem to hit the right note.

Yes, the location is quiet, but the hotel is located in the middle of a housing estate with construction going on on every side. Although I was not disturbed by any of the construction noise, it does lend an unfinished air to the area.

There were a few business groups that used the hotel during the day which decreased the sense of intimacy. The groups also kept the staff very busy, although they did make an effort to continue to attend to overnight guests.

The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable with lovely linen, and the cookies were a nice touch. They are also showing signs of aging with stained carpets and chipped paint. The bathrooms are very nice.

Breakfast and lunch were very good. Service in the restaurant was warm but quite slow.

The staff seem to have been very well trained, and were quick to make me feel at home upon arrival. However when a few issues arose that required correction the staff were exceedingly polite but never really resolved the problems.

Overall it was not worth the drive from the airport. I would probably choose somewhere more central for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yenzi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel for one night and I was impressed with the room (spacious, new and very clean) and the attention level of the staff. The hotel has style due to the use an equestrian thematic in the architecture and decoration.

The food was also very good . Dinner and breakfast was very tasty and served without delays.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
9.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#19 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
8.1 mi away
Ten Bompas
Ten Bompas
#16 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo at Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Property: Tintswalo at Waterfall
Address: Cnr R55 & Maxwell Drive | Waterfall City, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique urban boutique hotel close to the Johannesburg CBD and within short distance from major international airports. Sixteen luxurious rooms on a 230 hectare secure estate. Guests also enjoy the culinary delights offered by The Feedroom Restaurant, situated on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing