We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was good and there was bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown Sugar Backpackers
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There was good and there was bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I stayed while there for the world cup so I did have the bennifit of it being packed so maybe things are different at other times. It was overprice and only 1 and the 3 nights I stayed was there hot water. It was really cold in the rooms and no space heaters. I was sleeping by a window and was glad I had and extra blanket. Everyone was sleeping in multiple layers. The good was the drivers were really nice, the breakfast was included in the price and the bar was intertaining. The staff was friendly and helpful but the internet is more expensive there than any othe backpacker I have been to in SA. I was desperate and had to stay there an extra night which didn't make me to happy but I made some new friends so that is an upside.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roseandtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    28
    14
    15
See reviews for
9
26
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I fully agree with ibejrock: we stayed one night with them in a double room one week before the World Cup, which was alright. However, when we asked them what it would cost us if we would camp 2 nights one week later because we were going to visit a World Cup match, they told us they wanted us to pay 350,- rand (40 euro) per Person per night to sleep in our OWN little tent on their campsite! Obviously we never agreed on this crazy rate and when we came back to Joh'burg one week later we went searching for another place which was owned by HONEST people who did not raise their prices with 400% because of the World Cup...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeagol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Copenhagen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

....but we had no electricity in our room. No electricity in the hallway or in the bathroom. We had no hot water for 2 days either. Our room was fairly nice, quite spacious for a double room and a nice big closet.
The kitchen staff was very nice a prepared us a nice meal eventhough we hadn't ordered it beforehand.
We where picked up at the airport which was nice and taken directly to the hotel.
We took the trip out to Soweto arranged by Brown Sugar. The guide was a Brown Sugar employee which was fine, but he didn't really tell us anything other than what he was supposed to - that seemed a bit strange to me.
Overall Brown Sugar has a lot of rooms and a vibrant atmosphere but they lack in cleaning and location due to no shops, restaurants, cafe's, stores or anything nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaCPHCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Sorry to say that but the rooms were very dirty. One night it was raining and I had to cross a courtyard without light through the mud to reach the toilet.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_lover_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We liked Brown Sugar. A huge building with many different rooms (single, double, triple, dorm). Staff are helpful if not enthusiastic. The place offer good daytrips (even if sometimes we found them slightly overpriced) and taxi services, and very efficient free pickup from the airport. A cozy place, definitely not for party animals. The internet should be cheaper and working better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nammarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I made a booking at this hostel for the World Cup in 2010 five months ago in July. I was feeling very proud to have nailed down my reservations at a good price. Then, I received an email TODAY saying that rates had gone up and if I wanted to keep my reservation I had to respond immediately. The price had gone from $80 a night to over $200 a night!!! But it is now very late in the booking process at most other hostels so I have little choice but to pay more. If they had let me known months ago of their rates I would have gone elsewhere. The owner, Liezel Roux, needs to get her act together. Don't fall for this! Book elsewhere!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taralina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

A spacious place with many rooms and a very nice staff. Very close to the airport and thus a great place to make a stopover in Jo’burg. Very inexpensive. I would recommend staying in one of the cabins out back. A wonderful view of the sunset can be had from the front patio. The only drawback is that every time I was there, the place was rather empty so there wasn’t much of a social scene in the bar area.

If you’re travelling with the Baz Bus, this is where the driver spends the night so you’ll be the first person on the bus in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#24 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 89 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#9 of 89 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
5.2 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#15 of 89 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#3 of 89 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Sugar Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Sugar Backpackers

Property: Brown Sugar Backpackers
Address: 75 Observatory Avenue | Observatory Extension, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 'Ex-Mafia Mansion' offers clean, spacious, comfy and secure accommodation from camping, dormitories, family rooms, doubles, twin, triples and singles with shared or privite bathrooms. We are the largest hostel in Johannesburg and offer the following freebies: A Scrumptious breakfast, Free pick up from OR Tambo Airport or Park Station, Wi-Fi and internet, safes in all private rooms and private lockers in dorms, day and long term storage, tea and coffee. Print, scan and postage facilities available. Self service coin operated laundry room and swimming pool with amazing views. We have credit card facilities and our own ATM on site. We have our own drivers and vehicles for cheap shuttles to the shops and other locations. Our in-house tour guide is available daily for the most popular local tours of Joburg. The staff can assist you with a Kruger Park Tour, Victoria Falls or Chobe National Park tours. We are a Baz Bus stop and just waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Brown Sugar Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing