We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful, warm, welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful, warm, welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came to Lebo's not knowing what to expect but it was simply divine. It is a beautiful, funky oasis! We were so warmly welcomed and invited to eat a home made traditional South African lunch with the staff. the recreation area had hammocks and look outs in the trees and is wonderful to relax in. Our double room was simple but clean and as we had our own key our valuables were safe. Although some may warn you off Soweto, I as a young girl felt completely safe there and spent the evening on the grass opposite the backpackers playing with young children. The bicycle tour is a must do! It was my highlight of South Africa! I would recommend the four hour tour- the locals invite you into their restaurants, homes and even their local bar while the children chase you down the dirt roads trying to catch a lift on your bicycle.
So welcoming, so special, so safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
52
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My friends and I decided to have a Soweto experience and spent a weekend at Lebo's Backpackers.
I must admit though that I am more of a hotel girl, than a backpackers type of person, so sleeping at a backpackers was going to be a whole new expirence. When we arrived we were warmly received by the owner, Lebo. The following day we got to meet the staff who were very welcoming, the receptionist, Ntiyso, was friendly and very helpful.
My friends and I went on the bicycle tour, which was amazing, the place also has tuk tuk tour for people who do not prefer riding bicycles. - when we got back from the bicycle tour we ate the local food, which was devine. I must admit that Lebo's Backpackers chamged my mind on Backpacking - because of the high standards they have.

Should you wish to have a real Soweto expirence I highly recommend Lebo's Backpackers - its very clean and homey, home away from home. and it felt like I was at a hotel, the standards are very high. THANK YOU LEBO FOR THE AWESOME EXPIRENCE!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and this was our last stop in SA.trip.

The place was great and safe. We was like to stay at home. The team was friendly and helpful. The home made food was delicious. The room was clean. We joined the Tuk Tuk Tour which was very informative and let us know more about the black's history. .

We tried their public transportation to go outside. It was safe and easy to find.

We recommend to everyone if you want to experience Soweto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile


Very relaxed vibe. Staff was so friendly and helpful and the home cooked meals (extra cost) were delicious! Don't fear staying in Soweto - people are very friendly all over. The rooms/bathrooms and the hostel in general were spotless. I would recommend to anyone to stay here. Do the bike tour they offer - excellent way to see the township

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Im sandra and worked @ lebos for the world cup sesson. it was a VERY pleasant life experience, which i will never forget and would do it over and over again. it was like home from home. meeting defferent people from oll ova the world every day and a bicycle tour made me learn somethings that i didnt even know about my hood SOWETO. le music= excellent,le people=excellent,le invironment=excellent All is EXCELENT. i most definatly recomended to EVERYBODY who wants to have a life time experience on SOWETO. LOVE

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 951sandra_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I loved my stay @ Lebo's Soweto Backpackers for many reasons. it is a great place, warm welcome, friendly staff. They supported me a lot to fix my trips in and around Johannesburg.
The food was fantastic. The location is good. You can lean back at different nice and comfortable chill-out areas in the garden like the fire place, where you can meet backpackers, staff and enjoyable people from the neighbourhood. Just listen to the music, talk, dance, play pool, have some drinks or just relax!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm for a week. You share it with some others. Thats been great for me. But you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks Nicola! We are happy you had such a good time with us and enjoyed our Soweto vibe. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Elaine & I are from Ireland. We stayed at Lebo's 2 nights, 26th & 27th May. Well what can we say. Our stay was really really good.
We were met as arranged by our driver and taken straight from Jo'burg. airport to Lebo's. To be honest at the start of our arrival into Soweto, it was kind of a daunting experience to be in such a different place that the media has portrayed for a long time as being dangerous etc. etc.. On our arrival at Lebo's, we checked into our double room which was basic but clean and very comfortable.
We were keen to walk around the area but were unsure. Staff member assured us it was safe and we went for it. She was indeed correct. We were able on several occasions to walk around the area unaccompanied without any hastle whatsoever. We were greeted by residents on the streets welcoming us to South Africa and it appeared as if locals were very happy to see tourists visit their area.
Next day we took part in the guided 4 hour cycle around Soweto. This was a most excellent experience and very much worth the 450 Rand. I don't understand how a previous reviewer said it was a rip off. It was far from that. For the experience we enjoyed, we would have paid twice the price and that's honest. Our guide "Love" was excellent. She took us to a "sheeben" (great Irish word!!) and we met locals and drank local beer. We also had cow's cheek in another location nearby, well I had, Elaine didn't brave this one. Wouldn't be to everyone's taste. We cycled past Nelson Mandela's old home as well as a home of Archbishop Desmond Tutu's. "Love" sang us "Awimbawe" song brilliantly. We didn't realise this song originated in Soweto!! "Love" was very informed and gave us a great insight into the history of Soweto. She also took a keen interest in all the participants on our tour and our backgrounds. Tour included lunch and whole day was brilliant.
The staff overall at Lebo's are really nice and are very approachable and keen to help you out if required. At night there is a barrel with a nice fire in it in the "beach bar" out the back. Real reggae vibe going on here which wouldn't be our scene but it actually was really enjoyable and will probably buy my first Bob C.D. soon!! The bar has an honestly policy whereby you take your beer / wine etc. and mark it down on a sheet at the bar and pay bill on leaving. Really convenient actually. There were two German girls, Anna & Irina staying here same time as us and we enjoyed few drinks with them in the "beach bar".
Lebo's is definitely worth a stay and the bike tour is a must. Is definitely a different experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Owen and Elaine! Thank your for your positive and detailed review. Reviews mean a lot to us and to our staff and be sure we will share your comments with all our staff. We hope you can make it back to Soweto and Lebo's one day!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
8.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 96 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.5 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#9 of 96 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#7 of 96 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lebo's Soweto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Property: Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing