We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House in South Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Ranked #9 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Great Guest House in South Africa”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We enjoyed our three night stay here when we visited South Africa in November & December 2010. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and the service was impecable! Thansk Janine!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordercollie-Lexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
52
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We really enjoyed the SA welcome. Great staff. Very large rooms all ensuite. Beautiful Gardens. Very relaxing and serene.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cotswold Garden both before and after our safari trip. Janine and Mike were wonderful hosts and helped us with all our arrangements including transfer from airport, guide for Soweto and Apartheid Museum and restaurants - all of which were wonderful. The staff were lovely and we felt very special and at home. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Johannesburg and Cotswold Garden.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara-Tele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I have stayed at Cotswold Gardens several times. I go back because the owners, Mike and Janine, are fantastic. They get to know you and you become friends. They go out of their way to help you in any way possible. The guest house itself is charming and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The location is terrific, close to Rosebank Mall and easy access to many locations and destinations. The breakfasts are delicious. The staff are great, also very personable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Everything about the stay at Cotswald Gardens was terrific. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stayed for several days at Cotswold Gardens Guest House and it was a wonderful experience. I had a very busy schedule during my stay in Johannesburg, and would have gladly turned down the volume on my activities, just to enjoy the tranquility and hospitality that was extended to me during my stay. The staff were absolutely wonderful. Friendly, attentiive, professional and personable and took a genuine interest in your comfort and satisfaction. Janine - the innkeeper - was a terrific lady. Very interesting to talk to and conversant with anything you might want to know about South Africa....culture, politics, anthropology, society, the wilderness.....you name it. I would have no hesitation in recommending Cotswold Gardens.....and its wonderful people and beautiful environs. ( The Rosebank/Sandton area of Johannesburg is by far one of the nicest areas of the city, and Costwold Gardens is right in the heart of the district.) Can't wait for my next visit :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothySheehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is a fabulous B & B set in a beautiful garden with a swimming pool, conveniently located for Rosebank, Killarney and Sandton. The rooms are comfortable, clean and equipped with lovely extras such as a morning coffee tray, hair dryer, adapter plug, and wifi access. There is fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, muffins and eggs made to order for breakfast. Janine is friendly, knowledgable, and will organize anything you may need. Highly recommended. The blooming jacaranda trees in the Saxonwold neighborhood were a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Property: Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Address: 46 Cotswold Drive | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing