We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$92
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$327
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$88
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$192
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
252
27
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
27
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosebank mallb bhome away from homewonderful hostsguest househighly recommend this guesthousewithin walking distancezoo lakea wonderful staylovely gardenbusy cityan oasisevery morningshort drivefresh fruitbreakfast was deliciousenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 280 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my first time staying in central Johannesburg and I was a little apprehensive having heard about crime etc (my partner however is a former Johannesburg resident so much more blasé than me!). We stayed for three nights at the end of our trip to South Africa and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Cotswold Gardens.

It is very central in Johannesburg and great being just off of Oxford Road and Jan Smuts Avenue which main roads leading to most major places or onto the highways so great for accessing the rest of the city. It appears to be a safe neighbourhood and the guest house was equipped with electric gates and guests are given access keys so everything felt very secure.

Whilst inside the property you could be a million miles away from the CBD - it is so beautiful and peaceful with lush gardens and sparkling pool and lots of bird life in the trees around the stoop/patio. The room we stayed in (number 2 I think) was lovely and spacious with a great size dressing area and lots of nice personal touches such home made cookies with the tea/coffee making kit. The bed was huge (as we've found most South African beds to be!) and really comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the dining room or out on the patio, we were asked each evening what time we'd like breakfast and gave our orders the next morning so food was cooked fresh to order and was beautiful. There was a range of fruit / yoghurt's / toast & muffins as well as the cooked breakfast option. The hosts and staff were all extremely friendly and interested in all the guests giving everyone time and attention which adds a very warm feel to the place. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgiewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your marvelous review of Cotswold Gardens. It is extremely rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope to see you back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were very fortunate to have discovered Cotswold Gardens for our first visit to Johannesburg and South Africa. We spent two wonderful days there in April before joining our “Overseas Adventure Travel” safari group tour. Janine and Michael were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome, comfortable, and safe; what a wonderful introduction to the Johannesburg area! Janine suggested various points of interest she thought we might enjoy (including some lovely restaurants), and even helped arrange transportation, reservations, and tour bookings.
The home is in a great neighborhood and convenient to shopping and many points of interest. Our room (and the entire house) was bright and cheery and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and the gardens and pool area were delightful. We couldn’t have been happier than choosing Cotswold Gardens for our Johannesburg introduction.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you so much Ron, what a fabulous review you have written on CG. It is so good to know that you and Susan enjoyed your stay here. It was so interesting to have a whole group here and know that all the arrangements for the tours etc, went off so well. Mike and I send our best regards to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Started our safari trip by spending a couple of days in Johannesburg. We could not have asked for anything nicer or more welcoming than Cotswold Gardens. Beautifully maintained, lovely neighborhood, comfortable rooms. And Janine and Michael went far out of their way to make our visit memorable. Janine organized shuttles to and from the airport, tours of the city, restaurants, and a cheerful happy-hour with our friends. We also met some very interesting people here at breakfast. The garden is lovely; it almost seemed a shame to go anywhere else! We definitely recommend Cotswold Gardens for your stay in Johannesburg. Thank you again, Janine and Michael!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Sara hi, thank you so much for your glowing report on your stay at Cotswold Gardens. It was lovely to meet all of you and I'm so glad you went away with a positive feeling about Johannesburg. Hope to see you back in our country again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here with my sister when our travel plans coincided for a couple of days. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Johannesburg. Perfect location, walking distance to Rosebank Mall. Owners are very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful for booking tours, taxis, and really anything you could need. They connected us to an art tour of the city and found us reliable taxi drivers to take us here and there. Heated floor and heated blankets are wonderful in the winter! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amoehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Andrea thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you and your sister enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Gardens and we hope to see you again when you come down to South africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been staying at Cotswold for at least 8 years now and have to recommend this guest house very highly. Very efficient staff and wonderful suites and rooms. Great owners Mike and Janine who make u feel like family and are so helpful on every level. I travel all over RSA on business and this is one of my very best guest houses.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank tony_rolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Tony, thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to continue to give you the good service that we strive for and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews