We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Ranked #8 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here with my sister when our travel plans coincided for a couple of days. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Johannesburg. Perfect location, walking distance to Rosebank Mall. Owners are very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful for booking tours, taxis, and really anything you could need. They connected us to an art tour of the city and found us reliable taxi drivers to take us here and there. Heated floor and heated blankets are wonderful in the winter! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amoehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Andrea thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you and your sister enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Gardens and we hope to see you again when you come down to South africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been staying at Cotswold for at least 8 years now and have to recommend this guest house very highly. Very efficient staff and wonderful suites and rooms. Great owners Mike and Janine who make u feel like family and are so helpful on every level. I travel all over RSA on business and this is one of my very best guest houses.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank tony_rolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Tony, thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to continue to give you the good service that we strive for and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a lovely central location! This was a business trip and I have recently been trying out various B&B's as I do not like hotels. This is close to business, malls, restaurants, gyms etc. but it still feels like a lovely garden retreat. Excellent service & breakfasts, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Sonja, thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at CG so much. It was lovely to meet you and I hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Cotswold Gardens while on a business trip to Johannesburg and I couldn't have asked for better service. Janine and her team really are so welcoming. By far the nicest breakfasts that I've had while travelling. I highly recommend staying here, ample off-street parking, lovely environment, great location and by far the greatest thing about it, the people.

Room Tip: Try the bacon, mushroom and cheese omelette - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of CG. I am delighted you enjoyed staying with us and do hope you will be coming our way again soon. Warm regards Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I loved my stay in Cotswold Gardens. Everything I could've wished for and more. Spotlessly clean, comfortable, and tasteful decor. Set in beautiful gardens, this is a peaceful and picturesque haven in the middle of a busy city. Janine and her husband went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, even to the extent of giving over the counter medications for those minor ailments. Breakfast was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Cotswold Gardens or recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

What a super review Desi. I am ever grateful that you wrote such a glowing report on your stay and I do hope you will return to CG soon. Best regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I only needed a few nights to be near Parktown on business during my recent stay. I'm so glad my South African colleague arranged for us to stay at Cotswold Gardens instead of a 'box' hotel. We were able to enjoy a neighborhood setting with the most wonderful hosts. Strangely, I had a bout of hay fever when I arrived and on the spot Janine helped me with a few remedies until I could get to a pharmacy. That is more than hosting; it is caring! Even when I learned I would need an extra night, they were so accommodating. Not that I get to Jo'burg often, but when I do, I will be sure to make this my first choice.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall is larger...with a nice size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Keri thank you so much for this lovely review of CG. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back to SA again in the not too distant future. Best regards Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Cotswold Gardens is my favorite place to stay when I go to Jhb and very often I am disappointed because it is booked up and I left my booking to the last minute - not surprising as it is an amazing place to stay - the service is excellent and the hosts friendly and caring - I even got a complimentary bowl of soup when I was feeling under the weather

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Joe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much Mary-Jo, your review is terrific and I am so glad you enjoy staying here. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 298 in Johannesburg
365 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#11 of 298 in Johannesburg
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 298 in Johannesburg
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Drive | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $91 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cotswold Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing