We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrific place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Ranked #7 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a terrific place to stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

There are numerous factors that contribute to how enjoyable it is to stay in any particular accommodation. Cotswold Gardens was excellent with regards to location, rooms, cleanliness, food and comfort. Ten out of ten. What set this place apart was the incredible help and service provided by our hosts, Mike and Janine. After a long flight from Australia we arrived without our luggage and we were immediately whisked away to the chemist for some supplies. Our day tour was organised, and again their personal car was used to get us to the bank. They were more like personal butlers than hosts - thanks so much guys, you could not have made our stay any more enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
53
37
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Janine and Mike have created a beautiful, comfortable resting place and back it up with the kind of support you get from close friends. They can't do enough to make sure that your stay in Johnannesburg is both relaxing and exciting. We arrrived as a group of seven, five of whom were without luggage for the first night. (Thanks Qantas!) We quickly had all we needed to settle in, good food brought in, a great visit to prominent J'burg attractions and so on. Could not give any accommodation a higher rating. Keith

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This place is within walking distance to a large shopping Mall so is ideally situated for anyone going to Johannesburg for a rest or for business. The staff and owners are extremely friendly and accommodating while also maintaining a professional and efficient standard of service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Cotswold Gardens. It is much appreciated and we hope to see you on your next visit to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at Cotswold Gardens during the last week of July 2011 and I found the guest house very comfortable.
The owner, Janine, is vey involved and available and togetehr with the staff help create a comfortable and relaxed environment.
The guest house is also well situated close to major centres.
I enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

really enjoyed it. friendly staff, great food and the rooms was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilJaneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Gardens, hope to see you again on your next trip to JHB.
Best regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Mike and Janine will welcome with open arms in a genuine South African way. The staff is efficient and always accessible and is always ready to greet you with an African smile. You start your day with an invigorating breakfast that can vary from a selection of fruit, toast,cereals and juices. With or without a cooked breakfast.
If you're new to South African and not sure of what to do, the hosts (Mike and Janine) will be more than happy to recommend activities of leisure (adventure, sport. shopping) or just a great place to eat out. Accompanied with informative brochures of course!
The house is decorated in a family style, giving you that sense of home away from home. You can come and go as you please with all the comfort you deserve. I've stayed several times at Cotswold Gardens and Mike and Janine and the staff are now part of the family.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the swimming pool, sunshine and bird song is guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGillbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for writing a review for us and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Gardens, hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Janine and Mike are wonderful hosts, making me feel as though I were truly a family friend and not just a paying guest. There was a mix-up in my departure and I had to stay well into the afternoon. They remained gracious and kind despite having their family and friends visiting while I was 'hanging out'. Such generosity of spirit can be felt throughout the house and grounds, making it a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind review of Cotswold Gardens. We so enjoyed having you here and hope you will return to Africa again to see us.
Best regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.7 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
550 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Property: Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Address: 46 Cotswold Drive | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing