We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect home away from home”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #7 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Pam and her staff run the friendliest and most comfortable guest house for the business traveller I have come across. The rooms are luxuriously comfortable with complimentary Wi-Fi internet as an added bonus for after-hours work.

The guest house is located mere minutes away from Hyde Park and Sandton central, so is perfectly located for business stays in the north of Johannesburg.

I've been staying there for three years now and each time has been an absolute pleasure - I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was a very comfortable place to stay during a first-time trip to Johannesburg. I stayed in a second-floor suite that featured a kitchenette, flat-screen TV, sat TV, sofa and more than enough heating elements to handle cold Johannesburg nights. I liked being able to eat out in surrounding areas or buy items at the market down the street to cook myself. Breakfast is very good. The location provides easy access to a variety of activities and businesses.

The hostess is always around if you need assistance, but never in your face. I fell sick on the last day of my visit, and she helped make medical arrangements, drove me to the doctor's office--everything short of hold my hand while in the waiting room. My only complaint would be that the room safe was not big enough to fit a laptop computer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed there for a week in a one bedroom cottage. It was the most wonderful experience. Besides a beautiful decorated cottage with all the comfort needed I can only confirm what others have said before. The bed was so great that I slept better than at home! Pam is the most amazing host ever! She is the heart and soul of Amanzi and she will allways do what is needed to make you feel at home!
Everything was perfect! And the breakfast in the morning was delicious! I also enjoyed the little private patio in front of the cottage just sitting there in the evening and relaxing from a stressfull day was so precious!
I can only recommand this B&B to everyone ! Single traveller or family you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Thank you for your wonderful review and super photos. I hope you can return to Amanzi - the swimming pool is now chlorinated - the salt water is so much nicer and healthier to swim in. And have also added a lounging screened off area at the pool. Will add a photo of the altered pool area! Best wishes from Pam at Amanzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I just stayed there 4 the World Cup, the location is great, the cottages are outstanding, each and every request were inmediatly satisfied by Mrs. Pam (the owner) and the kindness of her, make AMANZI the best option 2 stay down at SA..

i highly recomend this Guest House!..

MIGUEL TENREIRO (Mérida, MÉXICO).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetizoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

Thank you for your warm words and I so enjoyed having the Mexicans stay at Amanzi! What a pity
that Mexico did not make the semi finals! Best wishes to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I am an expat who travels in and out of Johannesburg quite often and have stayed in many hotels and guesthouses throughout the area. This is by far the best one I have found and it is recognized as such by many expats. The service, amnesties and rooms are impeccable. Pam, the owner, is kind, friendly and knowledgeable about the area as well as places and events to catch while in Johannesburg. The location itself is a few minutes from Sandton and right next to Hyde Park mall. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Your review of Amanzi Guest House is so appreciated as an expat who travels fairly regularly to Johannesburg. Look forward to welcoming you back! Warmly from Amanzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Amanzi Guest House and its staff are making the extra effort to make sure your stay is just nothing short of perfect. That service starts even before you are there! Thinking ahead and being flexible with checkin times and late arrivals. Pam; the owner is really doing everything in her power to make your stay as comfortable as possible! The rest of her staff are also very friendly and it shows that they enjoy their jobs.

The cottage we stayed in is equiped with everything you can think of, fully equiped kitchen, even heating; which was (unortunately) quite welcome in the evenings as it was a bit cold. The bathroom is also very nice with separate shower and bath and the two bedrooms (of which we only used one) are roomy and have very good beds! A big plus!

Location can be described in one word: Paradise! After you come through the gate it all looks very nice, lots of trees, flowers and plants, privacy for everyone and a nice swimmingpool in the garden. It is conveniently close to Rosebank and Sandton which are both not more than 10-15 minutes away by car.

The breakfast which is included is very nice and the place has Wireless internet connection everywhere which is a big plus so you still get to check emails and look up places to go in Johannesburg.

What we liked best was the whole 'feeling at home' experience that Pam and her staff have given us, definately a big YES to anyone considering a stay in a guest house instead of one of those fancy hotels in Sandton. You get a lot more personal attention and privacy for less money!

What we didn't like?? That we had to go home again!

Next time in Johannesburg will be with Pam for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Thank you for your warm and comprehensive review on Amanzi Guest House - your compliments on our service are encouraging, as you are so right, we do try our very best to give our guests a home from home experience with added spoiling touches. Thanks for adding the photos, which I think are very helpful for fellow travellers. Look forward to your next visit! Warmly from us all at Amanzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I booked a 7 night stay at Amanzi, which I eagerly extended to 12 a few days after I arrived. The guesthouse has apartments decorated in an urban chic, and stone cottages in what I would call a sophisticated country style. The apartments are an open plan with kitchenette, dining table for 2, a desk, seating area (2 wingback chairs) with widescreen TV, and a very comfortable queen size bed. There was a well-designed spacious shower in my bath, but no tub. Water is solar heated, so no service delivery issues for hot showers!

For my extension, I moved to a cottage. While it had much more to offer (actual rooms, full kitchen, larger dining area and separate bedroom), I missed the "loft" feel of the apartments as a single traveler. The apartments also had better cross ventilations since they have windows on all sides, but the cottage was still wonderfully comfortable.

The neighboring guest and I discussed that we had some of the deepest sleep ever at Amanzi - partly due to high altitude, to be sure - but also due to the comfort of the place.

The grounds are like a mini-park or natural garden. The breakfast patio looks onto a wooded section with a gurgling stream. The back of the property has a decent sized pool and lawn for relaxing. Plenty of parking. Birds galore.

Breakfast included healthy bread products, a delicious spread of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice, and muesli. If desired, an English breakfast could be quickly prepared to order. Indeed, the kitchen seems to be the heart of Pam's morning, and guests are just as quick to enter through her open kitchen door and chat as go around to the main entry for a more "posh" experience.

The neighborhood felt very comfortable. Hyde Park Mall with a great book store, coffee shops, cinema, and many eateries is a strenuous (high altitude, remember?) but convenient 10 minute walk. Good news, it's down hill on the way back. There is a good neighborhood grocery (Spar) in walking distance as well as a deli that prepares wonderful meals to go that just need heating. Since each unit has full cooking facilities, these were great to purchase and easy to prepare.

There are several neighborhood restaurants and pubs that the locals dine at, as well as a Steers at a corner shopping center.

It is impossible to separate Amanzi from the personality of its owner/operator Pam K. Pam is very energetic, welcoming, and became the standard of South African hospitality to me as the first person I met after coming from the US. She takes a sincere interest in each guest and is a good source of information for the art and culture scene. She knows many gallery owners, and works with women artists in a township, so has a diverse range of experience to draw from. It is clear that the property is shaped by her artistic eye. Pam's staff also reflect her professionalism, reliability, and helpfulness.

Pam did go on vacation for the last few nights of my stay, but had friends come in and oversee the operation in her absence. They were every bit as helpful and friendly, and nothing missed a beat.

I look forward to returning for another part of my trip, and can highly recommend Amanzi.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolina_yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review of not only Amanzi Guest House and what we offer, but your experience of the area. I am sure your comments will be encouraging to other travellers who may have heard so much bad press about Johannesburg. Warm regards from Amanzi Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.6 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
178 reviews
4.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#3 of 298 in Johannesburg
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 298 in Johannesburg
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#4 of 298 in Johannesburg
296 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#13 of 298 in Johannesburg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing