We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
175
12
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
175
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craighall park home away from home guest house hosts pam delta park automatic choice close distance single traveller daily breakfast beautiful garden second home every amenity amazing hosts hot and cold options an oasis big city a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 190 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019

I was nervous about visiting Johannesburg but am happy to say we had a lovely, safe, refreshing and relaxing break. The accommodation at Amanzi was lovely, the cottage we stayed in was clean, spacious and cozy. Outdoor has lovely gardens, trees and pool which provided more relaxation opportunities. Our hosts Pam and Rob were so very welcoming and helpful. They assisted with tips of things to do, places to visit and more. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning in the sunny dining room with beautiful garden views. Amanzi is a very close to walk to lovely cafes as well as the dog park, supermarket and other conveniences. Very handy to shopping centres, malls and lovely restaurants. We can't wait to visit Johannesburg and Amanzi again and see more that the city has to offer.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnSHamilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Dear JnSHamilt
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I know how nervous you were about coming to Johannesburg, and so glad your fears were allayed. Rob and I are delighted you had a good stay with us, and enjoyed our outdoor areas. We feel lucky to live in such a convenient neighbourhood. Thank You again for your lovely comments, and we also looked forward to your next visit.
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the past four years and it has become our automatic choice when in Joburg. Clean, homely, comfortable accommodation and consistently prompt, friendly and personal attention from Pam the proprietor. Breakfast is fresh and cooked in your sight. Amanzi lies in a leafy suburb and the area is safe for daytime walks, with a couple of cafes (one offers a 10pc discount for guests) and a public park in close proximity. Sandton City is just a few minutes drive away. We are a bit picky when it comes to accommodation - but Amanzi has never disappointed us. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Voyager581806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Dear Voyager581806
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Amanzi, and for your lovely words. Its really wonderful to get such positive feedback! We have enjoyed having you stay at Amanzi over the years, and please know that we will always go out of our way to ensure that you are never disappointed in our high standards. :)
Warm regards from
Pam, Rob and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

I can’t recommend this place highly enough. Beautiful apartments - spacious with every appliance you can think of.

Wonderful hosts who attend to your every need (and their two gorgeous dogs who need regular petting ;-)

Great eateries close by - I loved Conti Cafe.

I felt safe in the area and everyone is very friendly. I’m looking forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2018

Hi Ben C
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and for your glowing recommendation. So happy you enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the eateries in our neighbourhood. (btw - Dolci cafe, not Conti :)) Having lived in this area for over 30 years, i definitely agree with you about the friendliness in this neighbourhood typically. We always have at least 5 conversations with people in our neighbourhood park when we take our dogs for their daily walk.
Look forward to your next visit :)
Best from all of us at Amanzi
Pam and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Amanzi is truly an amazing guest house and for us a real home away from home. The apartments are excellent, very well equipped and cleaned daily. Thabang and Deliwe’s freshly cooked breakfasts are legendary!
Over the past year my husband has lived at Amanzi and we (the rest of the family) visited a number of times. Pam and Rob are the most amazing hosts and they really feel like family. They will go all out to make sure everyone who is staying there is comfortable. We were sorry to leave them when we moved into our own house in Joburg.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank elviravh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Elvira (and family)
How lovely it has been to be part of your translocation to Johannesburg. We have so enjoyed having your husband stay over the last year and meeting you and your family when you visited. You certainly felt like extended family, and we really hope that you will continue to visit us! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Rob and I really appreciate your lovely comments, and Thabang and Deli are delighted to have their breakfasts described as legendary!
Warm regards from all of us
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Even if just for a night - What a great stay!
The Rooms are lovely, very comfortable and clean. The breakfast is delicious and freshly prepared. Thanks so much for a friendly and warm welcome to Pam and Rob
We feel like home and will stay again in this beautiful Guest House, if we are visiting Johannesburg.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank azocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Zocher couple
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and SO pleased you felt warmly welcomed and enjoyed your stay with us. Thabang is especially pleased that you enjoyed his breakfast! Look forward to your next trip in Johannesburg - and of course, if you have friends coming to Johannesburg, we would love them to stay with us as well!
Warm regards
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews