We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home away from home”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #8 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed in Amanzi in the Jacaranda cottage for 3 months from January to April 2013 during a business trip to Joburg. At the end it was really hard to leave this place, because we really felt like at home! Amanzi Guest House is beautifully and comfortably situated in the safe and green CraigHall Park district, there is a supermarket walking distance ( although in Joburg nobody walks ) and everything else what you need is 5 minutes away by car (also nice restaurants)
Property is beautiful, with green wild garden, herbs, plants and very nice salt-water pool. Our cottage was very comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated and perfect for a couple as it has a living room with a kitchen and separate bedroom. I can highly recommended it for both short and long stay, but it will be definitely more comfortable to stay in the cottage if you plan to choose Amanzi as a second home while staying little longer in Joburg.
But the most amazing thing in Amanzi is people! Pam is a perfect host and owner, very friendly and person with open heart. You can be sure that she will answer all your questions and help you to find your way around Joburg and SA! We have met wonderful friends there who were also guests of Amanzi, in the common area we were having barbecues and small parties.
I can highly recommend you to stay in this place both for the long term and short stays, you will love it. I personally selected it because of the good reviews on TA so I want to confirm that all of these are well deserved!

Room Tip: Cottage is better for long term stays ( and if you want to cook) it has private garden as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Gosia
Thank you for your generous and full review - we are SO glad you and H enjoyed your stay here at Amanzi. It was hard to say goodbye to you after 3 months! I am happy that you felt at home, and enjoyed the neighbourhood of Craighall Park. It was great that you joined in the Braai's (barbecues) and small parties! And also thank you for your kind words about me :) I know what it is like to be in a strange country, and how helpful it is to have someone with local knowledge.
Best wishes to you both
from Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
30
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lephalale, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Jacaranda Cottage with our little baby - its not easy being away from home with a little one but the feel of the establishment is so cosy and feels like a home away from home! Thanks to Pam and the team.
The Ras family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ras family
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Amanzi and so pleased you found the cottage cosy and convenient for you and your baby! It is helpful for overseas guests to know that "locals" also use guesthouses!
Warm regards from Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a long stay at Amanzi Guest House in the Belhambra 2 bedroom Cottage.A real home from home.We got so comfortable after our six week stay that leaving became a very depressing
situation for us.The new Solarium addition is glorious and in winter will be a treat-plenty of sunlight and warmth from the winter sun.We had breakfast there every morning and it was just wonderful to see the abundant bird life in the beautiful and huge trees that occupy and define the garden space ,majestically.
Pam and her very friendly staff are very laid back and help with whatever is needed,calmly and efficiently.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful-hence one can become attached in no time.
Amanzi is as eco-friendly as possible and it is enjoyable to participate in helping to minimize
the carbon footprint.
The premises are secure with well timed access control.Free organic vegetables are available in the sidewalk garden in front of Amanzi to those passersby who are in need.
Until next time Amazing Amanzi!

Room Tip: The upstairs apartments are more private and out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woerwoerwors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear K and M and M,
We are so glad you chose to stay at Amanzi for the 6 weeks you were in SA. Thank you for your wonderful review with such positive comments. It was great to read that you enjoyed the new Conservatory/Solarium, the bird life and the garden, and also thank you for your comments about the relaxed atmosphere, friendly and efficient service at Amanzi. I am a little biased :) perhaps, but I think that Joburg people are the friendliest in SA!!
Until the next time!! Best wishes
Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Amanzi Guest House for the second time in January 2013. The owner, Pam, greeted us like old friends and we felt as if we had come home! Amanzi is very well situated in Craighall Park, near to Rosebank and within five minutes drive of excellent restaurants. It is a haven of peace and tranquility, set in a lovely garden, with salt water pool. Our apartment was very spacious and comfortable, although up a slightly hazardous (when wet) staircase. ~The standards of cleanliness, comfort, and hospitality are absolutely excellent and we would always stay here when visiting Johannesburg.

Room Tip: We would prefer a ground floor cottage to an upstair apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Ruth, I am so glad you felt at home at Amanzi once again! It was good to see you both again and thank you for your postive comments on the space, comfort and standards of cleanliness at Amanzi. I am so glad you enjoyed the rather wild garden and salt water pool. I appreciate your comments about the area and how conveniently situated we are. The weather has been absolutely wonderful, and the pavement restaurants in this area, and neighbouring Parkhurst, filled with people enjoying a glass of wine and a good meal. Sending you some sunshine! Warm regards. Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent about three and a half weeks at Amanzi Guest House and cannot recomment it enough. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and very tidy and the staff always friendly and approachable. The guest house is ideal for both short and long stays and the area where it is located is safe and lush, with supermarkets like Spar within walking distance from Amanzi. As a single female resident staying at the guest house, I felt very comfortable about going for my morning jog in the neighbourhood and walking to the nearest grocery shop after work. The owner Pam is an absolute star, going to the extra mile to ensure her guests enjoy their stay at the guest house. The pool is magnificent and the garden creates a relaxing and soothing atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg business districts like nearby Sandton. Amanzi guest house made my stay in Joburg so enjoayable and yes, I cannot wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva-Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Eva-Maria
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Amanzi, and your very encouraging and positive comments. We are so glad you felt safe and were able to enjoy your jogs in the mornings, walk to our neighbourhood shops, and use the salt water swimming pool. We spoke about how surprised you were to experience Joburg as you did. It was great to see how you made the most of your free time walking on the flash tour walks in Johannesburg CBD, and getting around as you did. Looking forward to your return trip!
Warm regards
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Amanzi for 6 nights in January, three of them with our grown up daughter Charlotte and her boyfriend. We had a special reason for being there - Charlotte was born in Joburg and we wanted to show where she was born and lived. Pam really got into the spirit of everything and organised a driver, gave us lots of help and even sorted a doctors appointment and lots of other things which were over and above what you expect a guest house owner to do.
The guest house itself is peaceful and beautiful, the breakfasts are delicious and the cottage we stayed in was perfect, spacious and comfortable. I could happily have lived there for weeks! Amanzi is also perfectly situated for any trip to Johannesburg be it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Tricia
It was great fun to have your family stay and i loved being part of your journey going back down memory lane! Thank you for your very positive review and new photos. It is always so rewarding to receive positive feedback and so appreciate your comments on our helpfulness, the space, that you find Amanzi peaceful, beautiful and convenient.
Look forward to another stay at Amanzi when next you take a trip to Johannesburg.
Warm regards from Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've been staying at the Amanzi since October, and cannot recommend it highly enough! Pam has truly created something special. The apartment I've stayed in is airy and bright, and very comfortable. All the little things have been thought of - an electric blanket for cool nights, tea, coffee and biscotti, fresh flowers every day, great water pressure in the shower, etc. The wireless connection is fast and free, perfect for days when i need to work at the nice desk in my room. The pool area is lush and comfortable; a great place to share a bottle of wine with other guests. Breakfasts are generous, cooked to order, and the coffee is delicious!!

As a female coming to South Africa alone on an extended 3 month work trip, I was apprehensive about safety. Craighall Park is a wonderful, safe suburb, and the Amanzi is a real haven where you feel completely secure. I jog in the neighborhood in the mornings, and can walk to the local shops during the day without concern.

Best of all, of course, is Pam. Thoughtful and helpful, she really goes the extra mile to make your stay a wonderful one. I look forward to visiting her and the Amanzi again and again on my work travels to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review - if you found Amanzi special, we thought you were special too! Thank you for taking time to share your views on your stay here, that you found the room airy and enjoyed the extra details that go to make accommodation away from home special. I hope that wary travellers read your comments on how safe you felt in this suburb - poor Johannesburg gets such bad press, and of course there is crime, but the press does blow it out of proportion. We look forward to hosting you in the New year, with a braai and a good bottle of wine! Enjoy your well earned holiday from Pam and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 297 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 297 in Johannesburg
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 297 in Johannesburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Property: Amanzi Guest House
Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing