We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Shocking Service, overpriced, run-down!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karma - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Karma
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
JHB
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Shocking Service, overpriced, run-down!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

High street prices for backstreet service, tatty decor and food, whoever rated this restaurant best must get their senses tested!!! We got there on a saturday night at 7:15pm and the restaurant was empty, immediately a bad sign. Staff dress in plain black Tshirts another bad sign, can't pronounce food names, when asked everything would take 20-25mins, when we complained that a dish was not hot they just threw extra black pepper in and returned the dish. Chef's recommended dessert was not available, as it was not ready...so I dared ask what time it will be ready and got told tomorrow!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABSaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Food, Average Service, Terrible Car Guard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited recently for Sunday lunch as a group of four - and ordered the famous Bollywood Platter and two curry dishes that we all shared. The food was excellent and as good as we have had Indian cuisine anywhere. Our choice of wine from the wine list was not in stock and several other lower-priced wines also. No compromise was offered and we were forced to move up the price scale in order to satisfy our thirst. The venue was reasonably busy and the service was inattentive forcing us to wave at the waiters on several occasions to get various items and eventually our bill. The manager stayed in the background and made no effort to circulate and get feedback,

The entire outing was spoiled by finding that one of our cars had been stolen from the parking right outside during our meal - despite the presence of a car car guard who described the thieves and could only offer by way of explanation that he thought that they were friends of ours as they had followed us into the restaurant and then returned to the car alone. It was the second car that had been stolen from that area in recent times he said, but could not explain why he had not reported it to us in the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food - Poor Management! Greenside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived and ordered our food. The food I enjoyed, I can't find any fault here. However, when it comes to the overall service - I think this needs huge improvement.
At an Indian restaurant - you are generally going to eat with your hands, this is almost a must. Finger bowls should be provided or at the least Wet wipes. We were 9 people, when you asked about the finger bowls - they said they only had 3. So if it was a full restaurant - only 3 people would have finger bowls - ridiculous I tell you. What about wet wipes - these are cheap. Seriously! what is the excuse for not having it? Then the credit card machine does not work, in this day & age - how can this not work. In my opinion its a way of just making people pay cash. Lastly the toilets were poorly kept. You have 2 ladies toilets & 1 is out of order. The guys urinal was not working as well. Really bad. I honestly don't think I will return to this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDreamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love Indian food, and Karma have a good selection of typicial Indian food - I usually go to Karma in Greenside

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelming Un-Indian”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading that this place won awards as best Indian restaurant our basic expectation for Indian food was not met. Dark and dingy, poor service despite the restaurant being empty. No paneer tandoor but very salty halloumi tandoor. We asked for a spicy sauce and were served a bland colour infused 'tikka' sauce which tasted like nothing and then told that it was suitable for a western palate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHB-Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing