We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dump - stay away”

Ma'khaya Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ma'khaya Guest House
Ranked #174 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A dump - stay away”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This guesthouse is first of all not in Melville - it is in Westdene and a long way from the Melville amenities and restaurants. It looks like a very, very bad version of Out of Africa. Kitsh African - and I mean really kitsh - everywhere. My room is small, stuffy and not very clean. When I arrived, four of the rooms had no water - amongst them the one I was booked in. The manager wanted me to stay in the room (without water) and run across the guesthouse to a bathroom with water. I refused and was then "upgraded". My current room is thus an upgraded version of the one I originally booked. The satellite TV doesn't work properly. There is no wi-fi in my room as they advertised. Breakfast is at a smallish communal table in a stuffy little room. There are far, far better accommodation options in "real" Melville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry K, Manager at Ma'khaya Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Our establishment is situated in the leafy suburb of Johannesburg's trendy Melville that is 400 meters away from restaurants and University of Johannesburg, we encountered a water situation which was caused by the municipality but it was sorted we apologise for any inconvenience, we always make sure our guests are always happy please visit again.
MAKHAYA ALWAYS YOUR HOME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here in the family room (self catering) with my daughters for the first 2 days of our South African holiday. Honestly, the place was gorgeous, quiet, and safe. The staff were all fabulous especially the manager, Themba, who took us to Soweto for a day where we had an eye-opening and highly informative experience. The breakfasts were wonderful and far more than we could possibly fit into our tummies. Cable TV kept the kids happy, and reverse cycle air con kept us all happy (it was cold in Jo'burg and we'd stepped off the pane from tropical Australia so we were freezing!). We are already planning a return trip to SA and that will include another stay, probably a longer one, at Makhaya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerberas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Having had a very poor experience in another guesthouse in Jo'burg, Ma Khaya was just lovely. Beautiful rooms, great location, lovely staff, delightful gardens.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed here for a week in August and were totally charmed. The rooms are spacious and the atmosphere is fantastically relaxed. There's a small garden and most of the rooms have their own patio or balcony. Melville itself is a relaxed neighbourhood with a great bunch of bars, restaurants and shops on 7th Street nearby.

But the USP of this place is the people who run it. Brendan is friendly and always helpful, and we found his advice about what to do and where to eat to be spot on every time. It made us feel we were getting a local's view of Jo'burg, and really improved our stay in what can be quite a tough city to navigate. Nothing was too much - from lifts to the restaurant to multiple coffees during the day.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimPernell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#13 of 295 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blu Trea
Blu Trea
#24 of 295 in Johannesburg
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#60 of 295 in Johannesburg
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agterplaas B&B
Agterplaas B&B
#2 of 111 in Johannesburg
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 295 in Johannesburg
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma'khaya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma'khaya Guest House

Property: Ma'khaya Guest House
Address: No.1 Second Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing