We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Kong

Kong
Ranked #124 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Service is excellent and food is always of a high standard. We often visit this restaurant. It is our favourite in the Fourways area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kazm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    103
    36
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Roast Kong Restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great ambiance, great food.
I enjoyed the view. I also visit Reflexions Thai Spa (also at The Buzz Shopping center) and the combination of an authentic Thai massage with great food afterwords was out of this world. Highly recommended combination.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fransprinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kong Roast”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Pleasant and airy location overlooking a wetland area which in JHB is rare. Reasonable pricing and the "angry"duck is very angry .. even the mild !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Sa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food is exceptional. It can be a little expensive, but well worth it. You will need to book in advance if you want to get in as they are very busy and once there, you will understand why

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui v, Public Relations Manager at Kong, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review kong roast. Please join our Facebook community, for updates, specials and our move to Cedar Square. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food - no Stress”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food was great and the staff were outstanding. In particular :- CHARRITY and SHAKA. Thank you and I'm glad you're moving closer to where I live! I can come more often!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMRJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kong also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing