We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint, great and helpful staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverbend Country House
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
bangkok, thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint, great and helpful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The very kind hosts went out of their way to make us feel at home. They gave directions, recommendations, and made sure we were well taken care of. Located outside of the city, but felt completely safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenandree83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Having been to Johannesburg in the past I was a little concerned regarding the security of Riverbend as there was little mention of this on the website. However this was the most relaxed I have ever been in Johannesburg. Electric fences and gates being the norm in Johannesburgh I was pleased to see the B&B had both.
We were a family of 5 visiting relatives nearby, and Ollie and Barbara, who have recently taken over the B&B, went out of their way to accommodate us and the staff were excellent.
The gardens were well kept, shady and relaxing, loads of birdlife.
The rooms were clean and spacious, having both fans, heaters or an open fire. There is no safe in the rooms but there was no problem leaving items in the rooms.
We found really good restaurants nearby (on Barbara's recommendation) and had a couple of lovely "homecooked" dinners at Riverbend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Lovely place to stay. Very friendly staff, willing to help you with anything. Very quiet and peaceful, however only 10-15 mins from nightlife, restuarants etc. Staff are very trustworthy which makes a nice change....a bar that you help yourself to...and complete an honour book stating wat you've had!! Rooms are very spacious and clean, with a lovely fireplace...which was needed at this time of year. I would definately recoomend this place, whether you are a couple of a small group.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Riverbend country house is located in a quiet area of fourways Guateng province, south africa. the service is excellent, staff is friendly and courteous. The good thing about this place is you can get a hearty breakfast and dinner without the concerns of going out at night to find a restaurant. Close to great shopping at Fourways and also Monte Casino for gambling and shopping. You will need your own transport around this area. Easy access to the Lion Park, Sun City et. The manager Garry is a travel agent as well, so he can provide a wealth of assistance. Rooms are cosy and clean.

  • Liked — Everyone made you feel at home.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tbwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#38 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#31 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#46 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Country House

Property: Riverbend Country House
Address: 14 River Road, Riverbend, Fourways, 2068 | Fourways, Johannesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbend Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riverbend Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing