We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant Guesthouse in a convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 92 Culross Guest House

92 Culross Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
92 Culross Guest House
Ranked #150 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Nice, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Guesthouse in a convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a very pleasant guest house in Jo'burg situated close by to Bryanston. The evnironemnt is very quiet and the rooms are well furbished. As a frequent traveller on bsuiness I was extremely satisfied with the facilities and comfort provided. My only dissatisfaction was with the quality of the Internet connection as for about 40% of the time it was not available which is a challenge for business user.
I would look to return to this guest hosue on my next visit. I trust that the Internet issue will have been resolved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here in this gorgeous property and give it a 5 star for everything. We were made to feel very welcome and the room we were given was fantastic. We had a verandah that looked onto the stunning garden and swimming pool and it was so quiet and peaceful. We have been to South Africa many times before and this is the best property we have stayed in. Sadly this trip was for a funeral of a very dear relative who had just died but the owners and staff of this property made such a difference to our experience. We will never forget it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great. especially the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kestre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

First time in Johannesburg for 1 night and 92 Culross is there the right place. Beautifull house and friendly staff only there where to much because when we had breakfast the next morning there where at least 5 personen in the kitchen talking and making a lot off noise.
But the room was big and clean and we had a taxiservice from the house to the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Superb location, outstanding service, friendly staff who go above and beyond expectation and fabulous rooms

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Eilbeck1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

After my 8th visit to the wonderful 92 Culross Guesthouse in Johannesburg, I thought Its only fair to express my thanks and gratitude to the staff on a formal platform so that others can also benefit from my experiences here. This is the ONLY place in Joburg where I truly feel home, away from home. All in all a first class experience every time. Well done guys. I will keep referring you to all my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

More than comfortable, luxurious! Love it, looks so much lie my neighborhood back home that it can make everyone feel like home!
If you are visiting Johannesburg this is a great option!! We all know Jburg does not have the greatest security and what better than being on the suburbs and in a very protected area! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yadys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

stayed here in Joburg for 2 nights in late June
was very very cold - and there are NO heaters in the rooms
when we asked for one, it seemed to be a very large deal to provide us with one (a rolling gas cylinder space heater)
yes, there is an elec blanket on the bed but how are you supposed to spend time in your room other than IN bed ?
yes, there is underfloor heating but only underneath the tile floor and it is barely perceptible.
hair dryer must have cost about $5 - crappy.
oh, note that the TVs are also crappy and tiny and they have about 5 channels on them.

for the amount of money they are charging, and billing themselves as a 5-star guesthouse, they could do ALOT more to treat their guests better!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johkollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Ashdown House
Ashdown House
#34 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
6.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
8.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 92 Culross Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 92 Culross Guest House

Property: 92 Culross Guest House
Address: 92 Culross Road | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — 92 Culross Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing