We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!”
Review of The Local Grill

The Local Grill
Ranked #10 of 1,219 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Tulbagh, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

While visiting Johannesburg, this restaurant was recommended to us by family. We arrived stressed and horribly late for our booking (after getting lost in the big city) but we were warmly welcomed and there was no issue made of our late arrival.
We were given the "tour" to the back kitchen and into the cooler where an explanation given of the meat served, source, aging process etc. This was informative and helped with our choices.
A busy restaurant but a nice ambience with friendly, attentive staff and good food. Overall an very pleasant experience and we can understand why it was recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaynorRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    111
    35
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening with my family there tonight. Meat was out of this world. Tartare with a shot of brandy & filet steak absolutely awesome. Service from Mr Toby was outstanding. He wonderfully catered for our kids with a smile & my wife and I had a truly pleasant experience. Thanks guys. We'll sure come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly disappointing experience”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We made a booking for 10 people at 8 pm. We were only seated at 8:45pm. While we were waiting at the bar we ordered drinks, some beer, wine, whiskey and gin and tonic. The beer itself took a long time to arrive but the rest of the drinks took forever. We reminded the waiter at least 3times. Until we eventually got what we ordered. When we did eventually get the table it could barely fit 8 people. We approached 2 people about getting us a better table before we eventually got a bigger table.
After we made our starter and main orders we were told that there were only 3 portions of the calamari head starter left, there was no more mash and no more prawns. This being a month end Friday night! How can you run out of mash.
Those who ate the steaks agreed that it was excellent but the rest of the menu was really below average. Service was bad and we need to remind the waitress about our drink order.
The owner/ manager on duty was approached and was not very helpful and unapologetic about the unavailable menu items!
Highly disappointing experience for such a reputable restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiviRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi NiviRJ
Thank you for your comments on TA. We value your constructive comments and where possible have improved on the "Local" experience.
Running out of mash does happen as we make enough for daily use so it is always fresh, and on that particular day, the demand exceeded our expectation.
Your table was in fact booked for 8 so when 10 arrived we did what we could to accommodate you all.
When my partner mentioned to one of your group that there was only a small table available and that we were trying to get a larger one , she was told that they were happy with that one, obviously irritated by the poor bar service.
I sincerely apologize for this and as a result we have entirely changed our booking system. Your feedback is most valued.
Please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your unpleasant experience up to you.
Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meat specialists”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This restaurant is a very good place to go for good meat. The ability to tour the meat fridge and choose your cut and size is wonderful. I love the fact that I can get health, grass fed beef.
The food is simple and focused on quality.
Some of the wines weren't available but their list suits the theme.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High quality with great service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Dined here a number of times over the past 3 months and have had great food and service on all occasions. Steve who is the owner takes great personal pride in the restaurant and is clearly passionate about his meat. If you go make sure you do the meat tour!
Whilst it's not cheap the food is exceptional value for money and consistently high quality. The Boks love their steaks and of al the places we have eaten in Jo'burg since April this is at the top of the list. As visiting Brits who also love steaks we think the selection and quality of beef is brilliant with a very good wine list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing