We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premiere Classe Suites
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Premiere in June 2011 for the duration of the Markex Exhibition in the Sandton Convention Centre and it is not as bad at all as some of the reviews suggests. We had an old style apartment / room. Double bed with en suite bath and shower. A seperate mini kitchenette and lounge / sitting room area open plan. We were left to our own devices which is the way we prefer and were allowed visitors. The on going construction was put to a stop in the evenings when we wanted our peace and quiet. Whatever we needed we just called to reception for. We even took a walk to the Woolworths food and other shops just up the road. Traffic in JHB is a schlep in the mornings and evenings however so this year I've opted for something a bit closer & since I won't be driving around but I would definitely stay here again no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    68
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
31
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A good location with easy access to Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park, and the motorway network for Pretoria etc, though own transport or a hire car is advisable. The rooms are clean, spacious, and internet access is good. Ongoing refurbishment and a basic level of other amenities make it more suitable as a base to which to return in the evening, than for daytime use, hence highly recommended as a base for the business traveller.

Room Tip: The upgrade to one of the modern style, refurbished rooms is a worthwhile consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this self-catering hotel for 4 weeks over March & April. At our request, we were accommodated in a newly renovated one-bedroom suite and we were extremely happy with all aspects of our stay. CEO Merle and her team, Tumi, Belinda & Mackenzie were most receptive to all our needs and requests. On a previous visit, we stayed in a nearby 4-star hotel, but decided this time that we were not prepared to pay 4-star prices for 4-star facilities that we neither needed, nor utilised. Although obviously not comparable to our 4-star experience, we found the hotel ideally suited to our needs and recommend it highly as budget-friendly and most conveniently located.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 weeks between mid Feb till early March 2012. Hotel is undergoing major refurbishment currently. Truly enjoyed my stay there as hotel is located in one of the most prestigious areas in Johannesburg and nearby to major shopping locations such as Melrose Arch and Sandton City. The famous Fournos Bakery in Dunkeld West is nearby too. What I liked best was its location close to the Corlett Drive intersection of the M1 highway which makes it very convenient to drive to any location within the greater Johannesburg area. This hotel is highly recommended for someone who can drive or for a short to medium stay. If you are a tourist without a car, this hotel is not for you. The owner, hotel manager and staff were all extremely friendly at all times so this is truly a home away from home hotel.

Room Tip: For travelers who are new to Johannesburg, my suggestion is to stay on ground floor close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Wanted to stay near the stadium and this was perfect price wise. Overall the rooms were ok, clean but feel a little run down. They have secure parking which is really important in that part of town, no restaurant on site so you either have to cook (all suites have a kitchen in them) or drive/walk about half a mile or so.

It is not a hotel with 24 hrs reception and staff etc, there is one person who sits up front and checks you in, mans the gate etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

As a family of 7(which included small children) it was not an easy stay.We were given 2 rooms on the 2nd floor and without an elevator,it was a real pain to carry luggage around.It was under renovation at that time and hence the room was pretty primal when we first entered it.Kudos to the staff for geting everything ready and in place within the next few hours.The location is very good and there is a good number of different types of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.It is definitely NOT the worst hotel in Jo'burg and is pleasant for a short stay.Car parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Areful I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

In an effort to fairly depict our stay at Premiere Classe, while simultaneously dispelling the doom and gloom of some of the previously written negative opinions of which we read, it would be most effective to state the following facts: the hotel staff was most friendly, extremely competent making our stay away from home as comforting and pleasing as possible.

Two of us stayed in the cozy, SECURED apartment: one who was returning to Premiere Classe after 14 years and me, who had never been to South Africa prior.

Arriving during the South African winter season was something we were dreading because the heating systems in America are known to be far more advanced in keeping us warm and toasty as compared to the lack of heating resources available in S. Africa.

As a reassuring gesture, the on-site guest manager, Belinda, and owner, Merle, had wall heaters installed in each room of the apartment along with electric blankets placed on the beds. This made our stay quite warm and comfortable.

We did have the misfortune of a malfunctioning oven and when we mentioned it, the stove was replaced the next morning. As a courtesy, Belinda was kind enough to heat our food in her own oven and had it brought back upstairs to us when it was ready.

The rooms were cleaned daily with the assistance of housekeepers Peggy and Elizabeth. Their service was fantastic - no complaints from us whatsoever. Messages and packages were securely left for us and were available on our return back from our daily excursions.

Premiere Classe provided us with exemplary local resources for tours and transportation during our three week stay. The front desk staff was tremendous with remarkable exemplary guest services provided by Tumi and others.

Towards the end of our stay, they were busy with renovations: enlarging rooms, changing out fixtures and erecting a dining area for guests.

We would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Granted, the fixtures were a bit weathered-but, they functioned properly and adequately. For a self catering facility, you get a lot of bang for the buck!!!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and you'll get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlover11381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
11.6 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#38 of 68 in Johannesburg
103 reviews
8.4 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#23 of 68 in Johannesburg
378 reviews
2.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
314 reviews
10.7 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#39 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Suites

Property: Premiere Classe Suites
Address: 62 Corlett Drive | Melrose North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premiere Classe Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed one and two bedroom furnished self catering apartments, SMALL PET friendly,serviced daily,14(cable)DSTV channels , plus the free channels, FREE high speed wireless internet, telephone,24 hour reception,FREE covered parking. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton Gautrain Stations and exclusive shopping malls.With easy access to the M1 motorway which leads to various areas in and around Johanneburg. Walking distance to Melrose Arch Mall and The Wanderers Cricket Stadium. Laundry can be arranged at an extra cost. Breakfast can be ordered optional extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premiere Classe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing