We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Rooms are very nice and can be a great value if booked at the right time of the year. The surrounding neighborhood is not conducive to walking, so best to have a car if you're staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blusuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    214
    82
    22
    23
See reviews for
49
92
43
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed here for one night before traveling on to Mauritius as part of our Honeymoon. The staff were friendly, & the rooms very comfortable. As we were tired we didn't want to pay a lot of money for food in the restaurant. We walked across the car park to the wanderers club where the food was much cheaper, & got some nice basic food of burger & chips. The breakfast was very nice, with a wide choice of cooked & non cooked.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_NCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

This is a big hotel, with nice, clean rooms. The hotel shares its common areas with a club - The Wanderers Club - and, because of that, it feels like a beautiful, relaxing, country club. The food in the restaurant is absolutely great and very inexpensive. the service is unreliable, sometimes very good, sometimes horribly bad. We had serious problems with two ladies in the reception, who messed up very simple things, like a breakfast order (she charged us during check-in, but didn't register it, so they tried to charge us again the next day, at the restaurant) and they simply couldn't recommend one single day tour company. But the worse problem was the attitude, very agressive and offensive. Saturday, at 21h30, still suffering from jetlag and a ten-hours flight, we asked if they could recommend a restaurant and they pretty much laughed at us, asking how could we be so stupid not to know that dinner ended at 21h? Well, I really didn't know that dinner was served this early in South Africa (after all, I'm a tourist and, in my country, dinner at 21h30 in a Saturday is really normal), but I think that they could be more tactful, not to mention that the hotel should make sure that the staff is at least minimally polite.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel_m29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here for two nights before heading out on an organized tour to Kruger, Swaziland, Cape Town etc. We were very impressed with our large, clean, modern room, as well as the front counter staff and the restaurant. By North American standards the hotels wine and food prices are very good, as is the food and service. If you are booking in advance, be sure to ask for a room that overlooks the Wanderer's Club, otherwise you will be facing the street and trees....not so nice. We experienced both room types as we had to shift rooms after one night (our booking problem, not theirs...although they tried very hard to keep us in the same room). The hotel arranged to pick us up at the airport after our late night flight arrival, and they were always available to arrange rides to where ever you wanted to go. My only complaint is about the internet Wi Fi rates.....they are extortionate. I cannot imagine how they can charge so much. I could enjoy a fine meal in their restaurant cheaper than using my iPad for an hour or two :-)). If you stay here be sure to take a walk around the property and to check out the adjacent Wanderer's Club, and their restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDCFMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights just after the end of the Group stages of the world cup. We really enjoyed our stay and were disappointed we werent able to extend for an additional night as the hotel was full. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to try and find friends who might be able to accommodate us when all other hotel options were full. The buffet breakfast was great, especially the freshly cooked omelettes. The rooms were spacious with a nice view over the cricket ground. The hotel is right on the new bus route from the GauTrain so you can get public transport all the way from the airport and also up to the restaurants in Sandton central - saving on taxi fares! The only downside I can think of is there is no swimming pool and the bar is a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great hotel - situated in a quieter suburb of Joburg not far from Sandton and minutes away from the main M1 motorways (with others around 15 minutes away) it is ideally situated for travelling around to various parts of the city. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly and have a good service ethic. The rooms are clean, spacious, have air con, bath/shower and a good size desk for working from. The in-house restaurant offers good quality food albeit if the choice is a little limited (about 10 main courses) but what they do they do well.

Swimming pool area is good for quiet relaxation and partially overlooks the bowling green of the nearby Wanderers sports club. The cricket ground is also further down the road (but doesn't intrude on the hotel)...The gym attached to the hotel is a reasonable size , has a fairly decent array of equipment and the staff are very friendly.

Breakfast is a little pricey for what you get (R150) so if you're here for a long stay you can keep the food you want in your fridge. The laundery service is good if a little pricey (R150 for 5 shirts to be pressed) but will turn around orders the same day if received before 8am.

Local shopping centres & restuarants within a short drive at Sandton and easy to get out of town to see the sights from here to. Hotel is comfortably quiet in the week and lively enough on weekends. All in all a good hotel and a comfortable environment for an extended stay in SA.

And if you get a room looking out the front of the hotel you get to watch beautiful sun rises every morning over an open horizen!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I was there for the world cup even though that don't justify everything... We pay 350 us dollars per night per room and the breakfast was not even included !!!! We wanted to get on Internet and you have to pay 10 euros for one hour (really ? it's not even free at the price of the room) and same price for Wi FI. Personel not that nice, nothing in the room not even a complimentary bottle of water !!! and the minibar was empty !!!! They recommend us a tour that was 90 euros and doesn't worth it all (Soweto, Apatheid museum). I felt that I have been stolen the whole way and NEVER come back to that hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aymili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2196, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our guest's room every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing