We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotel was great for the price. Service was good and staff was friendly. Hotel and room seemed newly remodeled and modern. Bed was comfortable and Toshiba flat-screen was new.

Lounge, which was hip and colorful, served good drinks at low prices. My martinis were only $5 US!

Hotel was in a nice area with a great view.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    204
    79
    21
    21
See reviews for
45
85
43
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

What to say... I stayed here last week, while I was in Jo'burg for work.

Firstly, we got there at about 10pm, straight off a flight. We had hotel confirmations in hand, and the receptionist told us that our booking had been cancelled the day before.... ??

That was OK, they had a couple of spare rooms, but they were on the smoking floor. OK, we could live with that.

The room was OK, except that it reeked of more than cigarette smoke. To be honest, the hall smelt of marijuana. Like, really strongly.

The next morning, we were picked up by someone from our office, and found out that they had left 'welcome letters' and some other info there for us, which we didn't get. Our colleague went back into the hotel to try and find out where they were, and the staff denied they'd received anything. When our colleague walked back out, she saw the letters sitting in the intray sitting at reception.

My phone also went missing from my room, when I left it in there. We rang the hotel as soon as I realised, but they said that it wasn't in there when they went in to clean.

Food was pleasant, not amazing, but definitely did the job.

Apart from that, the staff were very nice and friendly and tried to help you with things, it just seemed the whole hotel was totally disorganised, at a management level.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed 3 nights while on South African tour. Location: Near residential area and not within walking distance of any restaurants, shops, etc. Rooms: Spacious, clean, quiet, well-lit; standard room amenities (safe, coffee maker, fridge but no iron). If you are a non-smoker, insist on a non-smoking room. The smoking rooms are smelly and the hallways reek of smoke. Internet: WiFi included up to 100MB/day. Gym: Large, well equipped gym but limited hours on weekends. Restaurant: OK breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Nice rooms, good service, friendly staff but the location is not ideal unless you are a cricket fan.
The hotel is just too far from shopping (Sandton, Rosebank) to be a great leisure hotel and too far from business centres (Sandton, Johannesburg city centre) for business travellers, but rates are good for 4-star if you are on a budget

Room Tip: best rooms have a view over the Wanderers ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberra_Couple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but it is clean, comfortable and has good service. The rooms are a little small and are designed with the business traveller in mind, but if all you are looking for is a safe, comfortable hotel to spend your time in, then this will suit you. The rooms are well equipped and reception can arrange transport around Jo'berg if you wish, although this is costly. The drivers, however, are very good and reliable. The breakfast was a bit disappointing. There was hot food but it was a very strange combination which seemed to be trying to meet all international travellers' needs, but actually managing not to suit anyone! There was however an acceptable though unexciting range of bakery items.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

On arrivl I was told that my room was not available as they had a large wedding on and that I needed to wait. As it was wy past 5 in the afternoon I argued this point and was put in a paraplegic room. Ecverytime I showered the bathroom was flooded. The loo was uncormfortable to use. The staff were inefficient and unfriendly. I have certainly experienced much better around Johannesburg such as the Grayston Sun and will definitely return there rather than use this hotel which I chose based on its location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We were very happy with our stay. Staff were incredibly friendly, grounds were secure, and the area was nice and convenient. Rooms were clean, quiet, and in good condition, with a nice selection of TV channels. Free internet access was provided, which is apparently a new feature. Only minor issue was them wanting us to pay for a breakfast we didn’t have at checkout, but this was very quickly resolved. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cybertraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2196, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our guest's room every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing