We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish in Jozi”
Review of Fishmonger Illovo

Fishmonger Illovo
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Illovo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best fish in Jozi”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's seafood. It just happens to be really fresh and expertly prepared. The salads are superb too?

And, oh, if you like really good chocolate sauce with your ice cream, then you'd do we'll giving this a try too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    69
    14
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
885 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“outstanding fish meal in very nice environment”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

after refurb this is now a very elegant restaurant . we were 5 all with different dishes, all outstanding . very good service, amazing quality, nice environment . one of the best fish meals in Johannesburg

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“When seafood makes you happy :)”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just arrived to Joburg and as always i try to find the best restaurants around where you can down a long day of work and wine and dine like you deserve it. Fishmonger is that kind of restaurant, so perfect in every sense, elegant joyful and perfect seafood dishes. Overindulging in a Groot Constancia sauvignon blanc, a lobster bisque or perfectly cooked langoustines never leaves you guilty. Not even when the bill ( very reasonable) comes your way. I am here since a week and we have made our way to fishmonger twice, i suspect i'll be going as much in the remaining week i am spending in Joburg. If you like seafood, dont miss it and say hi to Pedro and Jonathan the owner and manager from me. Their presence makes the whole difference!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Langoustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best fish restaurant in the World”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to the Fishmonger in the Thrupps Centre in Illovo since the day it opened, and it has never ever been anything but "exceptional". Pedro and his team run the very best fish restaurant I have ever experienced in all my trips around the World. The service is unbeatable as Pedro places huge emphasis on staff who are helpful, friendly, fast & personable. But the best of all is the excellence of the fish they serve. It is unsurpassable. For me, the 'Rock Cod' they get directly from Mozambique is the best fish on the menu, followed by the 'Englishmen' also flown in from Mozambique. But everything else is also beautifully cooked, from the 'Sole', the 'Prawns', the 'Calamari', everything you order is a culinary delight. Their 'Sushi' is also world class and the real freshness of what they serve always makes choosing fish or sushi a huge problem. They have a very good selection of white and red wines to suit all tastes. So if it is fish that you are looking for, you will never regret eating at the Fishmonger. It makes me so proud to say that this is the best fish you will ever eat anywhere in the World !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent venue with service to match”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been wanting to return ever since my initial visit. GREAT service, large menu. Great for functions or meetings. More upmarket than your usual Fish Monger. Manager always visible and interacting with customers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmonger Illovo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fishmonger Illovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing