We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Layover in comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Layover in comfort”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Situated a short walk for the terminal, it's a welcome sight after a long haul flight. The checking in process was quick and efficient, with a free welcome drink available at reception.
The rooms are compact but very comfortable and it was nice to be able to soak in a bath after a long journey.
Drinks by the pool are pleasant and reasonably priced. The dinner menu is not very inspiring, but it's just a bite to eat.......
Breakfast was included for us and it was sumptuous - there was every possible thing that you could want and it was delicious.
Checking out was a breeze - there's screens with flight info in the foyer.
There is free wifi - but only for an hour and it is quite clunky.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Please note that as of January this year we increased the complimentary WiFi limit from 15 minutes to one hour per day. We do feel that we have improved this service, but will continue to upgrade this offering. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    141
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
35
62
32
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Most of the stay was excellent - clean room and bed. I always check the shower spray and your passed the test. We have been to hotels in the past where I have refused to stay in the room because of the black and horrid shower spray. It is this that causes legionnaires desease. I was disappointed with the half wardrobe, but I understand this hotel is for business men with a minimum of luggage, we had loads. There was a female on the reception desk that was a bit brusk and smileless - sorry not got her name. Rest of reception very helpful. Loved the "semi chef" on the bar in an evening he and his team were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is several miles outside of the airport. So, you'll pay for a shuttle... per person... from and back to the airport. The hotel is in a pretty sketchy part of town... I did not feel safe.
There is no elevator. We had been traveling for weeks and had considerable luggage. Good luck with that! You will get help getting it up and down the stairs, but it is a hassle.
The rooms are miniscule. Even by airport standards. We had to open the window... it felt claustrophobic.
The food was pretty dismal. We had to have dinner there (there is no option). Breakfast is included... if you can get it. We had an early flight... so we had to BEG the management to let us have something prior to leaving on the shuttle (which only leaves at certain times)... we were starving, the food the night before had been awful.
All in all... DO NOT stay there. It is better to stay at the Gala Hotel that is ACTUALLY in the airport. We did that on our return. We're talking night and day between the two properties~! It is a little more expensive. But, taking the shuttle $$ into account, it is a much better deal, hands down!
Our trip was a combination of couple time and business... wish we could click on more than one, so I clicked business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hortensia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please be aware that we do have a hotel located within the O R Tambo airport precinct – this may suit you better as it is within easy walking distance of the terminals. We will , however, look into all of the matters you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edenvale hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for a night before our return flight next day. It is so close proximity to the airport unfortunately it is badly indicated from airport and difficult to find it.
Hotel is nice with comfortable bedroom, very nice bathroom and very clean. Breakfast was good and adequate, . Compared from Inter continental hotel room rate, price was cheap. I have no complaint about this hotel I will probably will stay again if I have opportunity to return to South Africa.
Highly recommended for a short stay in Johannesburg airport .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexperry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon when you return to South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you are arriving at Joburg Airport in the early to late evening, we can reccomend this hotel, over the last year or two we have stayed there several times as our flights in to Joburg have been late evening. The hotel is a short trolley push(indoors) from baggage reclaim.The place is light,safe, airy,well staffed with very adequate comfy rooms and little noise.The next morning you are a short trolley push from both domestic and international terminals. A buffet breakfast is available from early till mid morning. Just the place after a long flight.

Room Tip: There appears to be little airport noise,rooms on reception floor are near and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61John6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
There appears to be little airport noise,rooms on reception floor are near and very good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Having missed the last flight on a Saturday night, the covered walk to the hotel and the relatively cheap availability made this an excellent hotel. The room was very good, it had everything, including a very welcome cup of tea. The breakfast was first rate and the service really good. There was no aircraft noise and we had a peaceful sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for a second time primarily because of it's close proximity to the airport and it's reasonable pricing. Herewith the positives and negatives of my stay:

Positives:
* Near airport. So if you arrive late in JHB or have an early flight to catch or in transit it is a good choice. Easy access to highways.
* Reasonable rates especially when comparing with hotels.
* Spacious and Clean Rooms. Bathroom was very spacious and had high pressure shower and bath. Bed was also reasonably comfortable. The room has it's own air conditioner (not central air con) which is a big plus for me.
* Breakfast was a little basic but certainly adequate and very tasty.
* Hotel is clean and facilities well maintained.

Less Positives/Negatives:
* Being on the highway it can be a little noisy - even if you are in the backrooms. Fortunately I am not a light sleeper but I knoo this can be a problem for some.
'coffee shop' in the hotel closes at 10 so I had to rush to get something to eat. Supper was mediocre - and seems they warm up pre-cooked meals. The hotel does not offer room service and the bar closes at 11. There is a Mr Delivery fast food delivery menu in the room - but again you cant place orders for this after around 8 or 9.
* The '1 hour per day' free wi-fi was ridiculously slow. So if you are looking for good internet you wont find it here which is a pity as they do seem to cater for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE_Travelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and location. We will most definitely look into your 'less positives' Thanks so much for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Property: City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing