We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent airport hotel”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Having missed the last flight on a Saturday night, the covered walk to the hotel and the relatively cheap availability made this an excellent hotel. The room was very good, it had everything, including a very welcome cup of tea. The breakfast was first rate and the service really good. There was no aircraft noise and we had a peaceful sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    145
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
62
32
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for a second time primarily because of it's close proximity to the airport and it's reasonable pricing. Herewith the positives and negatives of my stay:

Positives:
* Near airport. So if you arrive late in JHB or have an early flight to catch or in transit it is a good choice. Easy access to highways.
* Reasonable rates especially when comparing with hotels.
* Spacious and Clean Rooms. Bathroom was very spacious and had high pressure shower and bath. Bed was also reasonably comfortable. The room has it's own air conditioner (not central air con) which is a big plus for me.
* Breakfast was a little basic but certainly adequate and very tasty.
* Hotel is clean and facilities well maintained.

Less Positives/Negatives:
* Being on the highway it can be a little noisy - even if you are in the backrooms. Fortunately I am not a light sleeper but I knoo this can be a problem for some.
'coffee shop' in the hotel closes at 10 so I had to rush to get something to eat. Supper was mediocre - and seems they warm up pre-cooked meals. The hotel does not offer room service and the bar closes at 11. There is a Mr Delivery fast food delivery menu in the room - but again you cant place orders for this after around 8 or 9.
* The '1 hour per day' free wi-fi was ridiculously slow. So if you are looking for good internet you wont find it here which is a pity as they do seem to cater for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE_Travelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and location. We will most definitely look into your 'less positives' Thanks so much for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

On my journey to Lusaka I missed my flight so I had to stay over on JoBurg. I choose to stay at the city lodge as it was the closest hotel to the airport.

They did have the intercontinental but I've stayed there before and wanted to try something different.

The City Lodge hotel was more then what I expected it to be. The room was great the service was great and for the price I paid for a last minute reservation it was reasonable.

I was also starving so checked out the hotels room service menus. They are in partnership with a restaurant that delivers which I forgot the name but the food was great and reasonably priced.

If I find my self in South Africa I'll try out the City Lodge or one of it's other brands!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinablue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the service. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night upon arriving in Johannesburg from the USA for three weeks in S. Africa while waiting for a flight the next day to Richard's Bay, and another night at the end of our trip waiting for our flight home.
It is very clean - the rooms are comfortable and there is a pool, workout room, restaurant and bar located on-site.
You can't ask for a better location between flights - a short walk to the gates.
The staff are very helpful and the food at the restaurant was well prepared and delicious.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachgirlBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The City Lodge became my home from home on two business trips to Jo'burg.
Clean comfortable with excellent staff, even the security guards were friendly to us crazy English and our early morning runs around the local area.
You can either eat in, or order food from local restaurants to be delivered. Or even eat in the restaurants themselves. Great breakfast.
Beware, there are no taxis or public transport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you felt at home with us. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Prior to picking up our car to commence our holiday Marataba Safari company in Marakele National Park, we stayed overnight at this hotel.
There is also a City Lodge Hotel right at the airport but I think the short journey to this one was worth the taxi ride. We were looked after very well indeed by all the staff from the night porter through to the restaurant staff at breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is secure and the bed was great ensuring a good night's sleep following an arduous flight of 11 hours.
Our room and the whole hotel is scrupulously clean and we were offered every assistance in arranging the uplift of our hire car for the onward journey.
Very cheerful staff as can be seen from the attached photo of Joe and "His Girls"

Room Tip: Our room was a ground floor which suited us fine although we met a couple who felt that they always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night after arriving from the UK.
Conveniently close to the airport it was comfortable and clean. A limited choice of food available in the hotel and you were encouraged to have food delivered in for your evening meal. Fine but limited menus available and the food did not travel well.
Break fast however provided in house offered good variety and was good.
A bonus was the offer of muffins to take with you for your onward journey. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alf653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,066 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#47 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
1.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Property: City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing