We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we realy enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Howick, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“we realy enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rooms are very big and comfortable.
The restaurant offeres good food and good prices.
Bad, as in all City Lodge hotels, is the offer of internet. They say we want you to stay in touch and then 15 minutes per day free, after that you will have to pay and not cheap rates.
Surelly a hotel of this category can do better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maizemiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    147
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
62
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel "City Lodge JNB Airport - Barbara Road" is about 4 km from the airport. There is another City Lodge, named "City Lodge OR Tambo Airport" or "City Lodge Airport Hotel" that is located above the Parkade parking garage and is physically connected to the terminal.

Many of the reviewers clearly stayed at "CL OR Tambo Airport Hotel" and wrote their review under "CL JNB Airport - Barbara Road".

The City Lodge referred to as "CL Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road" is neither on the airport nor on Barbara Road.

A search on Trip Advisor of Johannesburg airport hotels fails to bring up the CL OR Tambo Airport Hotel, which is the one that is actually on the airport grounds and connected to the terminal.

I have asked Trip Advisor to clean up this confusion, but no response yet. Better still would be for the CL chain to rename the Barbara Road hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

On Sunday, whilst out riding our bikes, one of our group skidded on the wet road and came off his bike about 1/2 kilometre from the City Lodge. Jake was badly bruised,bleeding and extremely shaken. There was no way he could get back on his bike and ride to our home on the other side of the city. Whilst some group members rode home to fetch a car, my daughter Rachel and I escorted Jake with our 3 bikes up the road to City Lodge. Security opened the gates and on seeing Jake's state, immediately took our bikes into safe keeping.
We went into the hotel and a first aid kit was produced immediately plus wound cleaner and cotton wool. We were offered complementary tea and coffee and when Jake started to shiver, housekeeping provided a blanket.
We waited nearly 2 hours and in that time recieved only courtesy and care. We did not buy food or drink and yet were treated as though we were valued, paying customers.
Thank you to all who helped us at around 8 a.m. on Sunday, January 20th.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was really impressed by this small hotel near the airport. I expected lots of traffic and aircraft noise and was pleasantly surprised by the quiet room I had. I also ate in the hotel at the in-house cafe and had one of the best salmon trout rolls. The breakfast was also good. The staff were friendly and obliging. All in all, this was a good one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Many of the negative reviews on this page actually refer to another City Lodge,the very inferior hotel physically located at OR Tambo Airport.I have stayed there as well and would agree with the many negative reviews of THAT Hotel.
This page is for the Barbara Rd City Lodge,which is a short shuttle/car journey from thr airport.
I stayed at City Lodge Barbara Road with 2 children,we had a very comfortable and enjoyable week ! The pool is not large but is clean and well maintained,all of the staff were extremely helpful and are to be commended for their willingness to go that extra mile for guests,be they adult or child.
The building is very secure,rooms are, large, clean and comfortable. I would agree that it is curious that a modern hotel does not have a lift to the upper floor.
Shuttle to the airport is just 2 Rand and a fraction of taxi cost.Exchange rate just now is 100 Rand = £7.50 Sterling.
Although the hotel is located near a busy junction we did not hear any room noise at all.
Only negatives I could think of are that Vodacom reception is poor and unless you wish a 24 hour McDonalds or tools etc from a Home Improvement Warehouse there are no shops within walking distance.
Of course ,there are big shopping malls only 10mins by car and the hotel has an excellent wi fi system(first 15 mins free each day).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived at 2 am and were checked in promptly. We had also left luggage here a week earlier with no problems and that was a bonus. Room was clean and service was quite good. Nice (though freezing cold) pool and patio as well. Bad things were small but a lot of them - key didn't work in the lock after check-in, meaning a looooooong walk back to the front desk along the endless corridors at 2 am. No hairdryer. Keys kept not working. Someone smoking (a lot) on a non-smoking floor. Safe battery expired so could not use safe. However, would stay here again, especially since so much cheaper then the Intercon next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Barbara Road City Lodge, as opposed to the one actually at the airport is a short drive (3-4km). Getting there involves either the hotel shuttle, which you can get from the shuttle bus hub opposite the actual airport City Lodge, or just as easily from a taxi/rental car.

Unfortunately, the airport transfer is not free and costs roughly the same as a taxi journey. Also, unfortunately (actually, it's nothing to do with fortune and everything to do with bad planning) this hotel has no lifts so that stairs have to be negotiated with luggage in tow - a rather baffling situation given that almost everyone that stays here is travelling through the airport.

That aside, the rooms are clean, the service is good & the food is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 66 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Property: City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing