We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best honeymoon (strart) ever”
Review of President Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
President Lodge
Ranked #1 of 33 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The president lodge was the best start of our honeymoon me and my wife could ever dream of. Arriving in a warm bath of welcoming spirit we felt home at once. Our bags were brought to our room and we were amazed with what we found.

As this was the start of our honeymoon the lodge had prepared a compl. bottle of Champagne and created a wonderfull atmosphere by placing rose pettals on the bed and towards the bathtub.

Service was excellent atmosphere was great. When we are in the neighbourhood we will definately visit this lodge again.

With regards,

Evert and Wilmadria Stuurop
The Netherlands/ South Africa

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evertatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 2-night stay at President Lodge and couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. We were met directly outside the customs hall, tried and punchy from the 19-hour trip from the U.S. The driver smoothly got us loaded into his car and took us directly to the Lodge, where Elaine got us checked in and showed us to our beautiful room just off the pool. The next morning, Jannette fed us a great breakfast and checked in with us regularly throughout the day to make sure we had everything we needed. After spending two nights, and ready to continue our onward to Zambia to begin our vacation, the return trip to the airport was equally smooth and easy. The only difference was that this time we felt like we were saying goodbye to family, what with the warm sendoff we were given.

I'd also strongly recommend dinner at Villa Bianca, a nearby restaurant that Jannette recommended. (Jannette or Elaine can arrange the transportation, since it's about a 10 minute drive from the Lodge.) We had a genuinely excellent meal -- on par with top U.S. restaurants where we've eaten -- at a very fair price. My husband raved about his lamb dish (a speciality of the house), and my Kingclip (a mild South African white fish) couldn't have been tastier.

Thanks, Jannette and Elaine -- there's no question about where we'll be staying the next time we travel through JNB!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My son and I stayed for a few days following a long haul from New Zealand. We were met at the airport and taken straight to the lodge. The hosts Elaine and janette were excellent. They went the extra mile for us. The rooms are spacious and spotless and nicely decorated. We stayed in the standard room which was next to the road. I think next time I will choose one of the rooms around the pool. I would highly recommend Presidents lodge to anyone travelling. There is nothing much in Edenvale but it is close enough to the airport for overnight travellers. We also did a trip to the Cheetach Sanctuary which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chongololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is a very nice guest house close to O. R. Tambo airport run by two lovely ladies that go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasurable. Breakfasts are fabulous and rooms are comfortable. I found the pillows a bit too hard for my liking and Edenvale doesn't have much to see and do, but I still highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I just got back from staying at the President Lodge during the World Cup. Before I left, my flight got moved up a day earlier and everything was booked up everywhere in the city. I emailed and I promptly got a response from Elaine, who offered us a room at her house for the first night. It was a super nice thing to do and saved us a lot of trouble! The next morning, we moved over to the hotel and were well taken care. Elaine and Janette, who operate it, are like surrogate mothers. One part concierge, one part front desk, one part breakfast chef, and two parts caring. Janette hugged my friend and I went we checked out left for the airport. I felt more like we had stayed with family friends than at a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottInClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed here twice on our trip to South Africa. The accomodation is clean and well presented. There is a pool which the kids enjoyed. Home cooked evening meals could be arranged (which did smell appetizing) altough we wanted to eat out. We were recomended a some good restaurants locally. Breakfast was good. If you want shopping there are several shopping centres in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed here for the start of our holiday and wow, what a lovely place to stay. We were made very welcome by Elaine and Janette. No task was too small in their eyes (even letting us check out at a later time). Lovely clean and spacious rooms. Breakfasts were great, and served at a time to suit you, which was good. We were so impressed by the place we made a booking to come back and stay at the end of our holiday too. Edenvale is a short distance from the guest house and set in a safe, suburban area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
4.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,257 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,389 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
3.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Lodge

Address: 9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range: $59 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Lodge is an up market guest house only 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. This modern lodge welcomes corporate clients, overseas guests and visitors seeking affordable luxury accommodation in a tranquil setting close to Johannesburg. We offer fourteen elegant en-suite rooms, each individually decorated with attention to detail and a personal touch. All rooms have private entrances, mini bars, air-conditioning, DSTV, Wi-Fi Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and safes. There is secure parking for all our guests.Full English or Continental breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room or in a more relaxed atmosphere around the pool. We also offer gourmet dinners on prior arrangement.President Lodge offers an executive air-conditioned conference room set up in a boardroom style. The Boardroom can accommodate groups of up to 10 delegates and is fully equipped with an electronic data projector, a screen and a white board or flip chart. The swimming pool and entertainment area create a tranquil atmosphere to relax after a long flight or a day at work.Our staff's commitment to service excellence makes our establishment the perfect accommodation for business people who need to be close to the major business areas around Johannesburg and the airport, as well as for overseas and local travelers who would like to stay a little longer.Airport transfers and day trips are arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your President Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing