We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like at home”
Review of President Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
President Lodge
Ranked #1 of 33 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

People are so hospitable, that I felt like I was visiting my mom! :).
Location is not perfect w/o a car, but I would say that about all Gauteng (You need a car in any case).
Rooms are cozy and very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcekutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We are really glad to hear that you felt at home during your stay at President Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 323 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night after arriving in the late afternoon from our long-haul flight. It's just 15 minutes from O.R.Tambo and perfect if you just want to relax and start your trip the next day. We had booked the twin-bed room which is facing the street (can be a bit noisy in the morning). The room is very spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We would definitely choose President Lodge again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review! Hopefully you will be able to stay a bit longer next time to really enjoy our hospitality. Looking forward to that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday visiting family in South Africa. We wanted to have our own space so decided to stay at this lovely B&B which is in the same location as our family.
We chose the luxury room which did not disappoint. We had a huge bed, a settee, plenty of storage space and massive bathroom with double shower and a huge bath which was lovely. We opened our door and stepped out to the pool area. Plenty of comfy seating and a covered BBQ area. The pool was a good size and very clean.
Every aspect of president Lodge was first class, it was beautifully clean and very well maintained.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
There was free wifi although we did have a bit of trouble getting it in our room but if we went by pool the signal was stronger.
Breakfast was cooked to order, during the week you could have a cooked breakfast and weekends were continental breakfasts. Food was fresh and plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank HarrietVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for the review! Our lovely guests that stay at President Lodge make it easy to provide a good service! We are looking forward to your next visit to the family and we will definitely check the signal in room one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel.
We loved it the first, and loved it even more the second.
Very homely, intimate and AMAZING FOOD! (we had a full vegan dinner)
The location is great, if you're just looking for a close place to spend overnight near the airport.

Thanks again!
We'll definitely return if we visit J'burg again...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zvika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

It is always a challenge to provide a 3 course dinner for our VEGAN guests! But we really enjoy a challenge and we really enjoyed having you here. Thank you for the return visit and thank you for taking the time to write the review! We really appreciate it and we are looking forward to your next stop over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recommended by Gisela at African Twist Travel

Arriving late at OR Tambo, we were met by the team from President Lodge and driven back to the Lodge where we were given toasted sandwiches as a late night snack

Room was large and comfortable with both a shower and a bath

Welcome was wonderful and despite our early start the following morning, a packed breakfast was ready and waiting for us as we left

Couldnt have asked for more in a very short stop over in Jo'burg - Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Manager at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Lovely to hear from you! We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay. Thank you for writing the review. We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thanks for a perfect day we've had in Joburg prior flying to our actual holiday destination in Mozambique. It was definitely worth the pit stop. From the pick up until the drop off next morning, everything was very well organized. President lodge is also definitely a place to stay with little kids. Well done ladies

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TeamSchonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review while still on holiday! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our 2 night was very good. comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfasts combined with excellent hospitality. It was a treat to be looked after by Jeannette and her giving us a lift to the restaurant was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

It was lovely to meet you and the rest of your group of friends, and we were very happy when you all arrived safely! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you can arrange another exciting trip to Africa soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
4.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,315 reviews
4.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
0.1 mi away
Golfer's Lodge
Golfer's Lodge
#4 of 33 in Edenvale
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breena BnB Guest House
Breena BnB Guest House
#3 of 33 in Edenvale
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Lodge

Address: 9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range: $60 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Lodge is an up market guest house only 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. This modern lodge welcomes corporate clients, overseas guests and visitors seeking affordable luxury accommodation in a tranquil setting close to Johannesburg. We offer fourteen elegant en-suite rooms, each individually decorated with attention to detail and a personal touch. All rooms have private entrances, mini bars, air-conditioning, DSTV, Wi-Fi Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and safes. There is secure parking for all our guests.Full English or Continental breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room or in a more relaxed atmosphere around the pool. We also offer gourmet dinners on prior arrangement.President Lodge offers an executive air-conditioned conference room set up in a boardroom style. The Boardroom can accommodate groups of up to 10 delegates and is fully equipped with an electronic data projector, a screen and a white board or flip chart. The swimming pool and entertainment area create a tranquil atmosphere to relax after a long flight or a day at work.Our staff's commitment to service excellence makes our establishment the perfect accommodation for business people who need to be close to the major business areas around Johannesburg and the airport, as well as for overseas and local travelers who would like to stay a little longer.Airport transfers and day trips are arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your President Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing