We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit for honeymoon - excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of President Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
President Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second visit for honeymoon - excellent!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel.
We loved it the first, and loved it even more the second.
Very homely, intimate and AMAZING FOOD! (we had a full vegan dinner)
The location is great, if you're just looking for a close place to spend overnight near the airport.

Thanks again!
We'll definitely return if we visit J'burg again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zvika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
It is always a challenge to provide a 3 course dinner for our VEGAN guests! But we really enjoy a challenge and we really enjoyed having you here. Thank you for the return visit and thank you for taking the time to write the review! We really appreciate it and we are looking forward to your next stop over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    62
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
75
22
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recommended by Gisela at African Twist Travel

Arriving late at OR Tambo, we were met by the team from President Lodge and driven back to the Lodge where we were given toasted sandwiches as a late night snack

Room was large and comfortable with both a shower and a bath

Welcome was wonderful and despite our early start the following morning, a packed breakfast was ready and waiting for us as we left

Couldnt have asked for more in a very short stop over in Jo'burg - Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Manager at President Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Lovely to hear from you! We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay. Thank you for writing the review. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thanks for a perfect day we've had in Joburg prior flying to our actual holiday destination in Mozambique. It was definitely worth the pit stop. From the pick up until the drop off next morning, everything was very well organized. President lodge is also definitely a place to stay with little kids. Well done ladies

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TeamSchonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review while still on holiday! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our 2 night was very good. comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfasts combined with excellent hospitality. It was a treat to be looked after by Jeannette and her giving us a lift to the restaurant was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
It was lovely to meet you and the rest of your group of friends, and we were very happy when you all arrived safely! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you can arrange another exciting trip to Africa soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the President Lodge. It is very central to all the highways and byways in around Johannesburg. I enjoyed the crispy fresh linen and it was no problem for them at all to do my washing as i was on my way to China and although I handed it in cery late they tried their best to accomodate me. The two ladies that run the place are two darlings and are always helpful , polite and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast offered is good and they made my eggs just how I like them. My wife loved the place too and was very happy to stay another night after I left. The best is that I felt so at home and so relaxed. I could recommend this to any travel who wants a hassle free comfortable clean place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Manager at President Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in your busy schedule to write this review. We really appreciate it. It was a pleasure having you and your lovely wife here. We are glad to hear that everything was to your liking. (So happy that the eggs came out perfect this time!) We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A colleague booked my stay as we were travelling together - on conference. The Lodge was quite central - as far as central in Jhb goes! My first impression was very favourable and two day / nights persuaded me. Neat, clean, functional and comfortable describe my stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and just love the courtesy bar, especially the fresh milk for more than one cup of tea. Gracious and helpful hosts rounded a pleasan stay. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very happy to hear that your first impressions lasted! Thank you for writing the review, and thank you for mentioning that the fresh milk in the fridge actually does make a difference. We are really happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Returning from a hunting safari, my friend and I spent a very comfortable night at this B&B type lodge. The location was an easy 15 minute ride to the Jburg airport. The room was neat, clean and comfortable and the owner, Jannette was extremely personable and helpful. Since we had a late evening flight, unlike most lodges that have a rigid early checkout requirement, she allowed us to lounge around after an afternoon shopping trip until the early evening.
We will definitely stay there on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Drago70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoandToad, Owner at President Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am so glad that you remembered to write the review ... and that we had the pleasure of meeting you. Thank you very much for taking the time to write it. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and remember you are welcome to bring the wives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
4.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,922 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,283 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
3.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Lodge

Property: President Lodge
Address: 9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Lodge is an up market guest house only 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. This modern lodge welcomes corporate clients, overseas guests and visitors seeking affordable luxury accommodation in a tranquil setting close to Johannesburg. We offer fourteen elegant en-suite rooms, each individually decorated with attention to detail and a personal touch. All rooms have private entrances, mini bars, air-conditioning, DSTV, Wi-Fi Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and safes. There is secure parking for all our guests.Full English or Continental breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room or in a more relaxed atmosphere around the pool. We also offer gourmet dinners on prior arrangement.President Lodge offers an executive air-conditioned conference room set up in a boardroom style. The Boardroom can accommodate groups of up to 10 delegates and is fully equipped with an electronic data projector, a screen and a white board or flip chart. The swimming pool and entertainment area create a tranquil atmosphere to relax after a long flight or a day at work.Our staff's commitment to service excellence makes our establishment the perfect accommodation for business people who need to be close to the major business areas around Johannesburg and the airport, as well as for overseas and local travelers who would like to stay a little longer.Airport transfers and day trips are arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing