We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality”
Review of President Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
President Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“True hospitality”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our trip. We were exhausted from safari and wanted a hotel near the airport as we were leaving the next day.
We were extremely impressed by the President Lodge. Jannette is an incredible hostess, as we have only excellent things to say about this lodge.

We were greeted at the airport with a sign and driven the 10 min to the lodge. On arrival we were impressed by how much has gone into security. We felt very safe here. We were greeted warmly by Jannette and shown to our room which was the luxury suite. It is amazing.
The king sized bed is outfitted in luxury linens and due to it being our honeymoon draped in flower petals. The air conditioning worked well and the bathroom is super luxurious with a giant 2 (5?!) person tub and separate shower. We were encouraged to take a dip in the outdoor pool around which the rooms are centered and it was divine in the summer heat.
We had booked dinner there as we had heard the food was great and we were too tired to leave the lodge. It was honestly one of the best meals we had in South Africa. It was home cooked, but absolutely top notch. The drinks were very reasonably priced and there was an honesty bar in our room as well. Breakfast the next morning was actually the best we had on our whole trip. Everything was delicious and cooked exactly to order.

Overall, for the price, location, amenities, and hospitality, we were absolutely thrilled with the President Lodge and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Luxury suite all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squishymichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    63
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
78
22
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This lodge is very convenienty located for buisiness travel due to its proximity to the airport and to main transport network (keeping in mind that Johannesburg is a horizontal city and that distances are big). It is run in a very efficient and friendly manner.
I travelled there with a group of 11 Brazilians, who are among the most demanding travelers I know, especially as far as service is concerned, and they loved it. We found that Janet and Elaine, the co-owners were always available to help us organizing our trip and making our stay pleasant. We were made felt at home yet could benefit from the board room for our meetings. Dinner is also very tasty and reasonably priced. It is a good option, as long as you are ready to give 1 day's notice for it to be prepared. The only improvement we'd suggest is a free internet connection, and if this is not economically sustainable, at least one that is not limited in traffic and that is faster that the current one. Also, I believe that this would be a good option for a family holiday: rooms are big and comfortable, the place is very quiet and kids can play around in the pool (watch one for very small ones though, as it is not fenced off, and make sure you get a front yard room that is further away from it)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitdobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My significant other and I had to overnight in Jo'burg while waiting to fly out the next morning. The accommodations and hospitality were exactly what we wanted/needed. Unlike a hotel, the owner was waiting for us and welcomed us immediately. Within minutes of arriving, we were checked in and had been shown to our very comfortable and quiet room. No fuss. Room was well appointed and the setting overall was much more personal, quiet, and enjoyable than any hotel you could find near the airport. We had to fly out early the next morning, but the owner (Janette) got there early and made us a delightful and quick breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueshacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

we needed an overnight stop in Johannesburg close to the airport before flying on to Namibia. found on Trip advisor, the President Lodge filled the bill well.

we were collected in the morning from the airport by Janette herself and whisked safely to shady restful areas beside the pool to rest for the day. we were upgraded to the honeymoon suites with a large bed and bathroom. excellent home cooked supper and pudding ended a peaceful layover in style.

with two way transfer, hotel, meal and wine costing under £150 a far better experience than airport hotels

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noetzielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

What a great find this turned out to be, good location close to the airport.
The rooms where spotlessly clean and the service was first class.
The breakfast was made to order and delicious with a good choice of things to eat.
The owner and her staff where a great help with noting been to much trouble.
I will definatly use them again on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Highly recommend President Lodge as a suitable retreat from the traffic and hustle of Joburg. Wonderful hospitality, and friendly service. We were collected from the airport and enjoyed our stay after the long flight from Australia. Spacious clean rooms and charming hosts. Very good value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philrobertsalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here one night with my 2 kids while en route to Cape Town. Great service and reliable airport pick up. Friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. My wife also stayed here a week later to join us and also had a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
4.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,030 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
3.5 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Lodge

Property: President Lodge
Address: 9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Lodge is an up market guest house only 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. This modern lodge welcomes corporate clients, overseas guests and visitors seeking affordable luxury accommodation in a tranquil setting close to Johannesburg. We offer fourteen elegant en-suite rooms, each individually decorated with attention to detail and a personal touch. All rooms have private entrances, mini bars, air-conditioning, DSTV, Wi-Fi Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and safes. There is secure parking for all our guests.Full English or Continental breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room or in a more relaxed atmosphere around the pool. We also offer gourmet dinners on prior arrangement.President Lodge offers an executive air-conditioned conference room set up in a boardroom style. The Boardroom can accommodate groups of up to 10 delegates and is fully equipped with an electronic data projector, a screen and a white board or flip chart. The swimming pool and entertainment area create a tranquil atmosphere to relax after a long flight or a day at work.Our staff's commitment to service excellence makes our establishment the perfect accommodation for business people who need to be close to the major business areas around Johannesburg and the airport, as well as for overseas and local travelers who would like to stay a little longer.Airport transfers and day trips are arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your President Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing