We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay if flying in/out of Jo'burg”
Review of President Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My significant other and I had to overnight in Jo'burg while waiting to fly out the next morning. The accommodations and hospitality were exactly what we wanted/needed. Unlike a hotel, the owner was waiting for us and welcomed us immediately. Within minutes of arriving, we were checked in and had been shown to our very comfortable and quiet room. No fuss. Room was well appointed and the setting overall was much more personal, quiet, and enjoyable than any hotel you could find near the airport. We had to fly out early the next morning, but the owner (Janette) got there early and made us a delightful and quick breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueshacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for President Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 310 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

we needed an overnight stop in Johannesburg close to the airport before flying on to Namibia. found on Trip advisor, the President Lodge filled the bill well.

we were collected in the morning from the airport by Janette herself and whisked safely to shady restful areas beside the pool to rest for the day. we were upgraded to the honeymoon suites with a large bed and bathroom. excellent home cooked supper and pudding ended a peaceful layover in style.

with two way transfer, hotel, meal and wine costing under £150 a far better experience than airport hotels

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noetzielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

What a great find this turned out to be, good location close to the airport.
The rooms where spotlessly clean and the service was first class.
The breakfast was made to order and delicious with a good choice of things to eat.
The owner and her staff where a great help with noting been to much trouble.
I will definatly use them again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennyboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Highly recommend President Lodge as a suitable retreat from the traffic and hustle of Joburg. Wonderful hospitality, and friendly service. We were collected from the airport and enjoyed our stay after the long flight from Australia. Spacious clean rooms and charming hosts. Very good value

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philrobertsalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here one night with my 2 kids while en route to Cape Town. Great service and reliable airport pick up. Friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. My wife also stayed here a week later to join us and also had a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at President Lodge for one night as we had a layover before catching a flight to Victoria Falls. Elaine and her husband met us at J'Burg airport, even though our flight was delayed and we arrived at 2 AM. Breakfast was excellent, and our stay all too short, before we were again off to the airport. The staff for all very friendly and helpul and we will certainly stay there again if we are back in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy_Two_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed and you didn't disappoint. Friendly and reliable, both when we were booking and when we stayed, we won't look for anywhere else during our stop overs in JNB. You always make us welcome and the standard of the accommodation means that even hanging out around the pool while waiting to catch an evening flight was perfectly pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolandonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
4.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,193 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
6.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Lodge

Address: 9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range: $56 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Lodge is an up market guest house only 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. This modern lodge welcomes corporate clients, overseas guests and visitors seeking affordable luxury accommodation in a tranquil setting close to Johannesburg. We offer fourteen elegant en-suite rooms, each individually decorated with attention to detail and a personal touch. All rooms have private entrances, mini bars, air-conditioning, DSTV, Wi-Fi Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and safes. There is secure parking for all our guests.Full English or Continental breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room or in a more relaxed atmosphere around the pool. We also offer gourmet dinners on prior arrangement.President Lodge offers an executive air-conditioned conference room set up in a boardroom style. The Boardroom can accommodate groups of up to 10 delegates and is fully equipped with an electronic data projector, a screen and a white board or flip chart. The swimming pool and entertainment area create a tranquil atmosphere to relax after a long flight or a day at work.Our staff's commitment to service excellence makes our establishment the perfect accommodation for business people who need to be close to the major business areas around Johannesburg and the airport, as well as for overseas and local travelers who would like to stay a little longer.Airport transfers and day trips are arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your President Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing