We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 3star by far”
Review of 3 Brothers B&B

3 Brothers B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
3 Brothers B&B
Ranked #22 of 32 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best 3star by far”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Value for money +++

Very nice rooms and beds
Clean and modern
Welcoming atmosfeer

Shower needs some work
Did not have closet


  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
4
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had two fabulous stays at 3 Brothers in 2011. The service was incredible, the rooms were comfortable, the grounds were lovely, and the food was great. What else can one ask for? Ernest and Maggie created a welcoming atmosphere, and Ernest came out to the airport very late at night to pick me up from a late flight. The place is a bit confusing to find, though. I got lost driving there myself once. But it is treasure when you do get there. And so convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The 3 Brothers is a family run B&B close to the international airport. The owners make you feel welcome. A pool and jacuzzi in the nice garden are available. I think it's the ideal place for people who don't want to stay in the anonymous atmosphere of a hotel. On my next business trip to Joburg I will stay again at the 3 Brothers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My family primarily visited Mozambique in May 2011, but stayed 3 nights + 3 nights at 3 Brothers since Jo'burg was our final flight destination.

Amazing hospitality from Ernest and Maggie! Clean, comfortable rooms in a pleasant, quiet, residential area. Pool and jacuzzi, bar and pleanty of seating in the garden. The BBQ dinners was a perfect way to socialise and the wine flowed freely. Ask for the potato gratin with the grilled meat, it's delicious/outstanding!

We wanted to do a safari trip too, but didn't have time for a minimum 3 day trip to the Kruger Park. Instead Ernest suggested that we may go to Pilanesberg National Park with him. Pilanesberg is much closer to Jo'burg than Kruger, and you get all the top 5 there also. This whole-day excursion to Pilanesberg was gorgeous, with Ernest acting as a guide and driver.

As a whole, this B&B is a bargain and I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMightyLaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed on two separate occassions at 3 Brothers and both times were excellent. The B&B has a pool and an outside bar, with some good restaurants nearby, making it a nice place to hang out without heading to the centre of town. The rooms themselves are really good - very clean, comfy and spacious - although the Mexican Room does have an uncovered skylight meaning the room is bathed in light from early morning onwards - not great if you are planning a sleep in!

Excellent breakfast each morning and the owners are fantastic - really friendly, knowledgeable and for very reasonable prices Ernest is happy to drive you where you need to go in and around Johannesburg and be your tour guide. Overall one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in - if I am ever in Joburg again, I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

my son and I stayed in the English Room which was furnished with twin beds, a shower alcove, and a toilet alcove. The wash basin was part of the room between the shower and the toilet. The drawers and space for hanging clothing was not accessible as one of the beds obstructed access. The beds shared one night table and inadequate lamp. The remote for the TV did not function, and Ernest, the owner, did not provide a remedy. The faucet for the sink was loose but worked ok. We did not spend much time in the room, partly because it was uncomfortable with our suitcases and everything else on the floor for the five nights we were there. Laundry service was reasonable and very good.
Breakfast was adequate but compared poorly to other inns where we stayed. Ernest and Maggie paid scant attention to the availability of hot water and the poor, reconstituted juice. Tea selection was limited to cheap basic tea bags. There was no fresh fruit other than old apples and maybe a brown banana.
The inn provided adequate dinners with wine at a fairly steep price (US$20). There is a large TV room. Ernest made his laptop available for internet access!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Ernest and Maggie are amazing hosts. Good sized individually decorated rooms are all situated around the garden which has an outdoor lapa/bar, plenty of seating, a swimming pool and hot tub. On our first night they cooked a BBQ and the wine flowed freely as we socialised with other guests.
Free transport to and from the airport. In a pleasant, quiet, residential area with secure parking if required.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
3.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bergliot Guest House
Bergliot Guest House
#5 of 32 in Edenvale
33 reviews
2.4 mi away
5th Avenue Guest House
5th Avenue Guest House
#9 of 32 in Edenvale
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
President Lodge
President Lodge
#1 of 32 in Edenvale
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
3.8 mi away
BM Gardens Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Brothers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Brothers B&B

Property: 3 Brothers B&B
Address: 4 Katy Avenue, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Brothers B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 3 Brothers B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing