We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay”
Review of Birchwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birchwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Our 2nd visit to Birchwood. Pleasant but the establishment needs some revamping. Parts are looking tired and in need of a lick of paint ! However, the bus service to O.R Tambo airport was a plus and overall we had a pleasant overnight stay. The bed comfortable and after a 14 hours flight from Australia this was important.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 674 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed here two nights, one coming and one going between Safari trips. The hotel is only a few miles from the hotel, but he shuttle runs to the hotel only once an hour, at 10 past each hour. Construction makes it difficult to find the shuttle location which is on the backside of the Intercontinental Hotel right at the airport. Our rooms were large, but had no air or heat so we had to open the windows which made us nervous as the entire property is walled with razor wire on them - makes us think it's in an unsafe area? Weekend rate was fantastic which is why we chose this hotel, so for the money it was fine. Breakfast isn't included, but it is only about $15 USD each and had plenty to offer. Dinner in the restaurant was just okay, I wish we had eaten at nearby Spur instead.

The place is huge, so if your room is far away from the reception area, they do have golf carts to take you to your room and you can call from your room for pick up or shuttle to the restaurant, which is nice.

Shuttle to the airport again runs only once an hour, so that can be quite inconvenient. Despite being told that we could take the 0830 shuttle for a 1000 fllight, we opted to take the 0730 and were glad we did.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

If you're looking for a place to sleep that's close to the airport (or you've got business to attend in Boksburg) then you might want to consider this hotel.
I've had a couple of different experiences with Birchwood. The first time I stayed in a corner room in one of the older blocks. I was right next to the road and seeing as the room had both a front and back door (not sure why) I got a lot of noise from both sides and it left you feeling quite exposed.
My second time I was in a ground floor room in one of the new blocks at the very back of the hotel. It was much more comfortable and quiet.
To be sure, the place leaves a lot to be desired: the restaurant is pretty bad (there is a Spur next door), the breakfast worse, the pool is more like a paddle bath, there's no internet in the rooms, you've got to walk a long way (or wait to take a courtesy golf cart lift) from the reception to your room, checking in can take a really long time if there's more than two people trying to check in at once, there's zero atmosphere and you're located on a strip with shopping malls and the like.
However, if you're just looking for a place to lay your head for a night or two in this part of town (airport is just down the road), it's very good value for money. Clean rooms, good shower, comfortable bed. You can get all this and more at the airport hotels, but it will cost you two to four times as much.

Luke

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ElLuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I stayed at Birchwood as part of conference. It is a large compound with lots of apartment style rooms. There are a range of venues for you to chose to eat from - all good value. It has a very large garden, so you dont feel cooped up like you do in a hotel. Staff at counter are very helpful, but some times service at front counter is a bit slow- so give yourself plenty of time to check-in/out) We stayed in king suite - so had a kitchen and lounge attached to our doublt suite. Our room opened up onto a grassy area. It is very close to airport (planes fly very late at night and very early in morning- not sure if they have a curfew there??). My travel partner had special dietary requirements and management made special efforts to accomodate them- but it did take two days before this actually happened- despite us advising the hotel prior to our stay and their assurance that this could be accomodated.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Had the unfortunate experience of getting stuck at Jo'burg when the plane broke down.

It seems this is a popular place for airlines to put their passengers (staff say at Emperors Palace!) when they have operational problems. The place is large (so could accomodate 400 passengers easily with little notice). It is about 20mins away from the airport on the shuttle, but right next to it in terms of noise. I closed all the windows but it didn't help. First there was a thunderstorm that woke me up, then the planes, then anybody who walked by...I am not a light sleeper!

The rooms are average basic and very dark. Would not have stayed there, if I had a choice.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MatthewRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This is a "campus" hotel with rooms spread out over a wide area. Going by the experience of our group of 7 people, the rooms vary a lot in quality and style. All checked in from an early morning flight arrival from Europe, only the first to check in got the room actually booked - an executive type room with 2 double beds, jacuzzi, large area. The rest of us were offered lower quality rooms as they were the only ones which were cleaned and ready at that time - 2 single beds, basic (but clean) room, and small dated shower room. Noisy - not possible to sleep in the day if you need to catch up after a night flight - the staff move around with walky talkies and are very busy setting up conferences, events etc. Having said that, the breakfast was plentiful and good, the grounds are nice (did not use the pool as it is unheated and it was cool weather), the Aviation Bar is good. Internet access in the lower quality rooms was not possible, but there is an excellent Business Lounge on site (not part of the hotel, it's a franchise) where we got all we needed in the way of meeting room space, internet access, food and drink for the day. Staff in the hotel seem generally pleasant and friendly, and especially so in the Business Lounge.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Birchwood staff work hard to please, with breakfast buffet above average, and 120 Restaurant actually quite good - if regular chef is working. Rooms are also good, although internet service spotty. BE WARNED - airport is nearby, and hotel has not invested in proper sound-proofing, so if you are light sleeper, this is not for you. Rooms to the south are quieter, although somewhat far from main area
- just call front desk and they will send cart to drive you.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sky_Blue_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
0.1 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
0.3 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
1.3 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
4.9 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Hotel

Address: Viewpoint Street | Bartlett, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Price Range: $61 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is South Africa's leading business-to-business conferencing facility, catering to hundreds of business travellers from all over the world each year. Over 17 years of experience in hospitality, and in understanding the needs of our guests, coupled with a location that is hard to beat, are the secrets to our success at the Birchwood Hotel. Added to our "success formula" is our staff who are highly trained and dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. The Birchwood Hotel offers 665 accommodation rooms, 60 on-site venues, three restaurants, including a fine-dining steak-house, a café and wine bar for quick meals and drinks and our aviation bar, for relaxing after a hard day's business. Other facilities include the Mangwanani African Day Spa, a gym, pool and squash courts. We at the Birchwood Hotel pride ourselves on the exceptional service of our staff and their dedication to ensuring all our guests' needs and preferences are catered for. With our large range of venues and facilities which enables us to host any sized event, whether it be for two delegates or 3000 delegates, we guarantee the all-important personal touch, by ensuring flexibility and affordability for all event types and budgets. Let us at the Birchwood Hotel assist you with your next conference, banquet, product launch, exhibition, wedding or accommodation needs, because as Gauteng's premier hospitality hub we endeavour to make your occasion our occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Boksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing