We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
250
284
177
46
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
284
177
46
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference venuereception areaconference facilitieshourly shuttlethe grilleast rand mallclose to the airporttambo airportexcellent serviceevery hourenjoyed my stayshopping mallshuttle servicecartsgolfvenuesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 797 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very basic airport hotel. The rooms were average, but comfortable after a long flight. Located in a very isolated area. Have the staff check your heater before you send them away.The shuttle service and golf cart service was very prompt and useful. If you are arriving after 10 p.m. check with the hotel about shuttle timings in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenoftimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Queenoftimepass,

Thank you for your review,

We are concerned to hear that your overall perception of our property was "average". The Birchwood continually strives to maintain a level of service quality that not only meets expectations, but exceeds them.

Being in such close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, we naturally to accommodate many guests who have arrived and been transported to our hotel from there. Overall, the standard of our rooms has been felt to be of a high quality and met the needs of the guests within them. We would like to kindly request that you inform as to where we did not meet your expectations in order that we can ensure that our services can be improved.

We will be addressing the problem with the accommodation room heater internally and thank you for advising us on that.

You are welcome and encouraged, to email me to elaborate on how we did not meet your expectations and I sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Greg Hoffmann
Email: gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights for a conference that was held at the same venue.

The room was basic, but acceptable. Beds were OK, bathroom just about fine although the sink did not drain away. Shower was a little weak. There is a fridge in the room, but nothing in it and no obvious place to buy refreshments (even water)- after a long overnight flight it would have been nice to have some refreshment in the room.

Room was VERY noisy, due to the windows being as thin as paper and ill fitting. Plane noise was constant from very early in the morning, and staff going about their duties were very noisy (doors slamming, dragging things along the floor etc). At one point, the handyman was using an angle grinder outside my room- not ideal after an overnight flight on which you don't sleep.

Nothing was really explained on check-in, and it took a while to find anywhere serving food. No room service is available, and we arrived the day before the conference started so could not join the buffet lunch, so had to eat at the café at reception but I recall there was a problem with payment (I think I wasn't allowed to put the cost of lunch on the room tab).

Grounds were nice, but not a great deal to see. Conference facilities were very good, including refreshments.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Lee,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very sad to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Regarding your problems in the accommodation room itself, we will certainly be addressing these with the relevant housekeeping and maintenance staff to determine why these issues took place. There is simply no excuse for these problems to have occured and we apologise sincerely for any inconveniences experienced. This too applies for the noise levels around the room.

We also apologise for the lack of information given to you at our reception desk. Standard procedure is to educate all guests on arrival as to available facilities and the location of their accommodation room. Regarding room service and the purchasing of refreshments, we will be investigating why this was not available during your stay as our Tazza Caffe (next to our main reception) offers both these services to all guests. Thank you for informing us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our conferencing facilities. The Birchwood Management sincerely hopes that we can welcome you back to the property soon in order that we can change your perception of our hotel and not simply meet, but exceed your expectations in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The 665 room Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is situated on Viewpoint Road in Boksburg, a short drive from the terminal building of Johannesburg’s Oliver Tambo Airport. It is within easy reach of highways to Pretoria and Central Johannesburg. Nearby is the East Rand Shopping Mall, the K90 Shopping Centre and the East Rand Flea market as well as several restaurants.
The hotel operates a free drop off and pick up service to both the East Rand Shopping Mall and the OR Tambo Terminal building where it has a reception area for arriving guests. Although the hotel lies near the final approach path of landing airlines rooms are well insulated and little sound is heard from within the rooms.
The hotel consists of single story motel type accommodation within several acres complete with gardens to stroll in. Electric cart drivers are on hand to ferry guests around the complex. For guests arriving in cars there is car parking outside each room. The complex is surrounded by security fencing with entrance and exit of cars strictly controlled and monitored.
On arriving at the hotel from the airport in a rented car we were warmly greeted by the gatekeeper who helpfully assisted us to locate the reception centre. Although it was only 10.00am the smiling receptionist checked us in and indicated our room was ready. We were given a welcome letter, printed details of facilities available and a map of the complex on which the route to our room was indicated. The receptionist suggested that it might be easier for us to ask one of the electric cart drivers parked outside the reception centre to guide us to the room. We did and followed him in our car to our room.
The room was larger than most hotel rooms, adequately furnished and having a desk to work on. There was a flat screen TV with several channels, including sports and film channels. A safe was fixed in the wardrobe. The bathroom was large containing a separate bath and a spacious shower cubicle. A range of toiletries were provided. Both rooms were spotlessly clean. There was a computer connection in the room but unfortunately a charge of 50 Rands per day was made to access the Wi-Fi. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities were provided and a small refrigerator (without any drinks) was in the room. A bed turn down service was provided each evening. At this time a complimentary bottle of still drinking water was provided and a chocolate placed on each pillow.
A buffet breakfast included in our room rate was provided at the Petit Centre Restaurant, just a minute’s walk from our room. A large variety of food was available and the two ladies who were the short order cooks were efficient and friendly and carried out their work with smiles on their faces. On the first visit for breakfast the head waiter greeted us and suggested he show us how the buffet was arranged. This he did. On subsequent mornings he greeted us warmly as did other staff members of the restaurant. The staff of the restaurant certainly provided a bright start to the day. Daily local newspapers were provided in the restaurant.
Within the delightful grounds of the hotel there is an impressive range of facilities including a five a side soccer pitch, a small swimming pool, a 24 hour gym, a squash court, a sauna and spa, a chapel, several restaurants and bars and many conference centres.
The hotel is close enough to the airport for stays to catch flights and has excellent facilities for both the business traveller as well as the independent traveller.
Although during our time at the hotel several conferences were being held they in no way impacted on our stay.
In brief it was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel to get special rate.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear crocnsw,

Thank you for your review,

We are extremely pleased that you experienced so many aspects of our service offering and that they met your expectations. We will pass on the feedback to the staff involved.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The venue is still new and have some teething problems. Eg wireless reception almost non existent and 3G intermittent.

However, the rooms are comfortable and food was well prepared.

Pricing is good.

All in all a worthwhile hotel to use.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Theo P,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that your stay with us was primarily positive and that our rooms were felt to be comfortable and the food enjoyed.

We are aware of certain 3G limitations and we are addressing this with our mobile supplier.

Please feel free to email me should there be anything additional on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in April. The grounds are quite expansive, as many have mentioned before. The food was pretty good and a good selection at the breakfast buffet.

My room was located near the north wall I believe, so there was no Wifi access. Even in the main lobby, the internet wasn't working on a couple of days. While the room was big, it was sterile - white walls, little colour. It was more like a motel room. The bed was o.k. The bathroom was a bit dirty and could use a good scrubbing.

The hotel is located near the airport, but far from the city centre and the northern suburbs. There are shopping malls nearby, and the hotel offers a shuttle service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear B_in_Ottawa,

Thank you for your feedback,

We appreciate the complimentary remarks on our food selection and taste. We are sorry to hear that room allocation was not as per your expectations and will take your feedback onboard (particularly the internet related issues). The limitations of any room and it's internet access should have been communicated to you and we apologise for this not happening.

We are happy that our shuttle to the shopping mall was made use of.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Please feel free to email me anything additional regarding your stay on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews