We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
250
284
177
46
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
284
177
46
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference venuereception areaconference facilitieshourly shuttlethe grilleast rand mallclose to the airporttambo airportexcellent serviceevery hourenjoyed my stayshopping mallshuttle servicecartsgolfvenuesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 797 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Firstly this was not the first time I stayed at this hotel but seems the bigger they get the worse there service becomes. Reception was ok if not trying to translate what the mumbling was.

The rooms are average although more thought could have gone into the fact that most cellphone chargers do not come with 3 point plugs. the bathroom was ok in appearance but hot water in the shower requires patience and suddenly disappears. the water pressure especially the hot water vanishes as the other bathrooms open taps so a cold shower at 05:30 is possible. The staff are not discreet and shouting seems to be the norm and sounds like a market during shift change not to mention the endless drone and back firing golf carts.

The best thing about my stay was the Petite centre where breakfast was served. Efficient professional staff who save this hotel with service and attention to detail

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohamedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear mohamedz,

Thank you for your review. The concerns mentioned are of a very concerning nature, as this is certainly far from standard practice for the hotel and we will be looking in to the issues urgently - particularly the water problems as well as staff and golf cart noises.

It is good to hear that our Petit Centre breakfast as well as the service experienced during it were enjoyed.

We would like to do our utmost to ensure that we can alter your perception of our property - please feel free to contact me to discuss the items further.

Email: gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.

Kind Regards and we hope to see you again soon at the Birchwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Vast property with the rooms often being a good 15 min walk or 5 mins on a gold buggy to them.

Rooms were simple and clean but no wifi, also I stayed beside the back gate so I had the noise from the Laundrette which didnt help. For single female travelers I would recommend the rooms much closer to the reception block.

Very nice transfer from the airport and the food wasn't too bad, nice steak at The Grill.

Good for conferences as plenty of fresh air and space to walk around in, however it is on the flight path for the airport so quite noisy especially in the early morning.

Staff were excellent and plenty of them.

Room Tip: Don't stay down by the back gate
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear jndub,

Thank you for your review.

Based on your comments, it appears you had both positive and negative experiences during your stay. We are pleased that rooms were felt to be satisfactory however, the Wi-fi connectivity should have been addressed by our Reception. Certain rooms do not get access due to proximity factors. This should have been communicated to you and a suitable room allocated.

Thank you for the compliments on our on-site restaurant, The Local Grill as well as our conferencing facilities - we are happy that you found our unique layout to be effective. The noise from planes is unfortunately due to our extremely close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport.

We sincerely hope that you will be making use of the Birchwood again soon in order that we can change your experience from mixed to exceptional.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I live in Johannesburg and this is my second encounter at the Birchwood Hotel. Last year I was there for the SASCOC Coaching Conference and this time its for the National Lottery Board Indaba and we had the inaugural dinner awards last night.

Their staff is always sooo pleasant and helpful :)

Its always a pleasure visiting the Birchwood Hotel :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaMchunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear MaMchunu,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely enjoyed having with us last week and are very happy that your experience a positive one. It is also a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a tremendous treat you gave Reon & I. A real spoiling. We so enjoyed our dinner at the Grill the food was really great and the service excellent.



We walked round the grounds and admired what you are doing to green the Hotel.



Lewis Pugh`s talk was more than inspirational it was a lesson in sheer determination.How he could have

survived those traumas I really don`t know,the only thing I think is that he has Welsh Blood from his Mother,

I too am Welsh, so it makes us tough!

We look forward to staying with you again in the near future

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsbethL889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear EisbethL889,

You are more than welcome. Thank you for you joining the presentation and event and also, for visiting our award-winning restaurant, The Local Grill, as well.

We too, hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I so loved this hotel.Its so big and i love the fact that its a set up of chalets which was nice coz we got to move in the fresh air often as we had a meeting within the hotel premises.its quiet apart from the noises of planes landing and taking of every 15min because its so close to the airport which is also a plus.atleast they have a shuttle that goes to the mall so i didnt need to get on any cab whilst i was there.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank nyalumanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear nyalumanda,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our facilities. We are pleased that various features were made use of and look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews