We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Divas had a fab time!”
Review of Birchwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birchwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Divas had a fab time!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The service was amazing from the reception to the cart drivers, to the organising team and the rest of the management that we interacted with...

A special thank you goes to Palesa, Njabulo, Piet, irene, Kaizer....well basically everyone we came into contact with. The level of professionalism was outstanding, our event was made a "dream come true".

Room Tip: The newer rooms are obviously more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokuthula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    214
    149
    37
    30
See reviews for
33
58
32
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two weeks ago we stayed at the Birchwood for 2 nights (honeymoon suite) - It was amazing.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was big and very clean.
Jacuzzi was great fun. Wish we had stayed for longer.
Our wedding co-ordinator was Natalia Walicsek - she was friendly and great to deal with.
She made sure that our Big day was perfect!
Food was good, waiters were efficient and friendly.
Decor (done by Leisel Braun - Unlimited decor) was stunning.
For anyone looking for a wedding venue - Birchwood was great!!
Margi & Michael

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargiBenoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Once again, thank you to the staff of Birchwood for helping make our event one to be remembered by all who attended. This was the 2nd year we used the establishment and have already begun discussion on next years event.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is an ok alternative if you have to spend 1 night near Joburg Airport. If you'r unlucky you'r right behind a big group (since being used by airliners as 'fall back system 'to house passengers' it appeared). Shulltle service and rece[ption than will be very crowded. The room itself was ok, but I didn't like the large building blocks too much. As said, ok to spend a single night on the way through on Joburg Airpot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Birchwood is a beautiful and diverse venue with competent, dedicated and pleasant staff.
Our event, held at the Phomolong Boma on 13 October 2012, was co-ordinated by Natalia Walicsek and we shall be requesting her services for future events, as she was friendly, organised and professional.
The food was delicious and the waiting staff were efficient, capable and friendly.
I would recommend the Birchwood to anyone needing a venue for an event of any size.
Pamela P

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked my conference with Birchwood on quite short notice and was very impressed with their ability to arrnage and get everything sorted for me. We had 2 special dinners arrnaged for the delegates who also stayed at the venue (stirfry and braai), they loved the dinners specially the braai, the food and the vibe was awesome!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel was easliy assesable from the highway, greeted by friendly staff and was helped in a polite and prompt manner. The Hotel is very clean and secure. The Bar, Hi-Flyers is a great location to have a beer or to meet with friends while listening into the cockpit commentry of the planes coming into land at OR Thambo.

Room Tip: Good, Comfortable and Relaxed ! Rooms closer the the Main gardens and pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
0.1 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
0.3 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
3.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Hotel

Property: Birchwood Hotel
Address: Viewpoint Street | Bartlett, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is South Africa's leading business-to-business conferencing facility, catering to hundreds of business travellers from all over the world each year. Over 17 years of experience in hospitality, and in understanding the needs of our guests, coupled with a location that is hard to beat, are the secrets to our success at the Birchwood Hotel. Added to our "success formula" is our staff who are highly trained and dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. The Birchwood Hotel offers 665 accommodation rooms, 60 on-site venues, three restaurants, including a fine-dining steak-house, a café and wine bar for quick meals and drinks and our aviation bar, for relaxing after a hard day's business. Other facilities include the Mangwanani African Day Spa, a gym, pool and squash courts. We at the Birchwood Hotel pride ourselves on the exceptional service of our staff and their dedication to ensuring all our guests' needs and preferences are catered for. With our large range of venues and facilities which enables us to host any sized event, whether it be for two delegates or 3000 delegates, we guarantee the all-important personal touch, by ensuring flexibility and affordability for all event types and budgets. Let us at the Birchwood Hotel assist you with your next conference, banquet, product launch, exhibition, wedding or accommodation needs, because as Gauteng's premier hospitality hub we endeavour to make your occasion our occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Boksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing