We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
250
284
177
46
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
284
177
46
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference venuereception areaconference facilitieshourly shuttlethe grilleast rand mallclose to the airporttambo airportexcellent serviceevery hourenjoyed my stayshopping mallshuttle servicecartsgolfvenuesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 797 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Birchwood is a beautiful and diverse venue with competent, dedicated and pleasant staff.
Our event, held at the Phomolong Boma on 13 October 2012, was co-ordinated by Natalia Walicsek and we shall be requesting her services for future events, as she was friendly, organised and professional.
The food was delicious and the waiting staff were efficient, capable and friendly.
I would recommend the Birchwood to anyone needing a venue for an event of any size.
Pamela P

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked my conference with Birchwood on quite short notice and was very impressed with their ability to arrnage and get everything sorted for me. We had 2 special dinners arrnaged for the delegates who also stayed at the venue (stirfry and braai), they loved the dinners specially the braai, the food and the vibe was awesome!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel was easliy assesable from the highway, greeted by friendly staff and was helped in a polite and prompt manner. The Hotel is very clean and secure. The Bar, Hi-Flyers is a great location to have a beer or to meet with friends while listening into the cockpit commentry of the planes coming into land at OR Thambo.

Room Tip: Good, Comfortable and Relaxed ! Rooms closer the the Main gardens and pool are great
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Birchwood Hotel is conveniently situated near airport with central Johannesburg within easy reach. Comfortable, spacious and (important) clean rooms. Friendly and competent staff, ready to help out whenever needed. Local Grill is a must!
I would strongly recommend this hotel to any visitor to Johannesburg

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Birchwood is one of the best hotels on the East Rand and is situated in a very central place. The Birchwood is a one-stop venue for all your needs. From accommodation to conference facilities, restaurants, wedding chappels and lovely restaurants to choose from. It really is a "user friendly" venue.

Room Tip: i suggest when you make your booking, ask the lady to assist you in your needs. They are all clued up and very helpful. Also be specific in what you want.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews