We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
253
294
178
46
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
294
178
46
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference venue reception area conference facilities hourly shuttle the grill east rand mall close to the airport tambo airport excellent service every hour enjoyed my stay shopping mall shuttle service carts golf venues accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 811 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We used Birchwood for our Wedding Reception and would recommend it to anyone! Everything was perfect, staff is always friendly and willing to help, venue was beautiful, food was great and the best part was the Co-ordinator Natalia who made sure we didn't have to worry about a single thing and went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

About the only good things I can say about this hotel are the service at the Petite restaurant and his Manager Thomas who ALWAYS pays attention to detail, one of the Conference rooms Managers, Lucky who, when asked to fix something, he did, and service and food at the Local Grill. Aside from this, service is EXTREMELY poor, food at the other Restaurant, Clovergreen was warm at best. There is NO WiFi in the rooms (incredible, isn't it) and even the wired connection was marginal, EVERYDAY.

The rates are fine but do not make up for the lack of service. Check out is also a LONG process, so give yourself time. Some rooms, close to the reception area are VERY noisy as people and workers do not care how much noise they make coming in, even very early in the morning.

The Hotel is very popular but I wonder why.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAINPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed in the Birchwood for 3 weeks (September 2012) teaching a course in one of the pavilions. There was both good and bad to comment on during my long stay.

First the Kudos: The Le Petit Resturaunt was excellent in no small part because of the on-site attention and expertize of Thomas, the Petit Manager and his staff. First class all the way. If you have a chouse - eat here! Great job Thomas!

Other personal kudos to "Lucky" on of the on-site managers. Lucky was extremely helpful and able to get things done when numerous calls to front desk to fix bungalow in room safe failed. 4 different calls to front desk nothing - one discussion with Lucky - safe fixed within the hour.

Local Grill: Very good food and service and inside the Birchwood compound but managed seperately.

Other Birthwood resturaunts ranged from poor to fair with Greenxxxx the worst.

Be sure to ask for room near the back near the Local Grill - rooms #'s 400/500/600 and close to Le Petit resturaunt.

Large spread out complex and easy to walk but confusing at first and I used the available golf cart shuttle at first and when it rained.

Rooms are just adequate. Reminds me of budget/cheap U.S.A. Motel rooms. Air con noisy but it was cool and not needed.

Overall average except for Le Petit and Local Grill but close to airport

Room Tip: Get rroom near Local Grill and Le Petit resturaunts.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Arived at 1am in the morning due to flight. Got charged as the shuttle only operates till 00h10. The restaurant was closed and I remember reading 24 hour room service. I was up at 04h45 to shower to catch early morning flight to Cape Town. Shower was ice cold. All the water in my room was ice cold. Was told can only pay cash for shuttle, why could I not pay by card?
On the plus side, very friendly staff, nice room, comfortable, but for the price I am sure I couldve got hot water somewhere else and food at that late hour.

Room Tip: Rather pay the same amount for something much better
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Insurance Zone hosted a charity fund raiser on behalf of CANSA (The Cancer Association of South Africa) on the 12th September at Birchwood Hotel. This is a fantastic venue for functions such as these, and the staff and events teams are beyond excellent! I have received nothing but positive feedback from clients regarding the venue, decor and food! Great venue for corporate functions! We will definately be hosting future events at Birchwood!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews