We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engaging, friendly host; awesome service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impangele

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Impangele
Ranked #13 of 39 Benoni B&B and Inns
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
“Engaging, friendly host; awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed with two separate nights and would recommend the Impagnele without hesitation.

To be sure, I am especially indebted to the owner, Walter, for heroically "overnighting" my forgotten computer to me in Cape Town. Not only did he spend hours packing it and shipping it, but he also followed up by phone and email to insure we received it on time. We did!

In addition, we met interesting guests at his delicious dinner with regional foods and felt right at home with an honor bar. We slept well in a quiet room with a wonderful bed and got our dog fix when we missed our own dog. The Impangele is located across the street from a bird reserve, so it's a good place to walk. There is also a pool and tennis court. We were picked up and dropped off as planned, plus we were taken to the bank and museum. All in all, Walter added a welcome bit of humanity, care and humor to our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vrmsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Lovely and relaxed time in comfortable rooms. Walter offers options of airport transfers and tours around Johannesburg. Directly in front of the house is a beautiful lake which you can walk or run around, or for something more relaxed just sit out and enjoy a few drinks watchignt he birds. I felt at home in the common areas of the house.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaviadacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed at Impangele on arrival in Johannesburg and returned after a break in Kruger. It is based in a beautiful location and the rooms are large and very comfortable. The faciities and garden are wonderful and Walter is a fantastic host. Nothing is too much trouble and Walter's help and advice add to the pleasure of staying here. The area around is safe and has a large number of good restaurants. It is also adjacent to the major roads and airport making it an ideal location. We would definitely return every time we visit Johannesburg and cannot recommend Impangele highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

For anyone on a leisure trip to South Africa Impangele is the place for a stop off on arrival, place to stay a week or 2 to discover the surrounds of Joburg, or be part of longer tours of discovery of the Rainbow Nation. Walter, apart from being a perfect host devoted to the needs of his clients, is a wealth of knowledge of things South African. If we ever come this way again Impangle would be a must in our planning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthBarneyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

What more is there to say other than what has been said? The owner Walter couldn't have been more charming and helpful.We stayed there on 2 separate occasions in between trips to other countries.We were able to store our bags and in our absence our congenial host made reservations for us for something we wanted to do on our return

There is an honor bar with a good selection of reasonably priced wines and other spirits as well as the option of having Walter cook dinner for you.That was most welcome after a long drive in one instance and a late return from the airport in another. The food was delicious,the dinner was reasonably priced and there was plenty of it

The neighborhood is quite nice with mansions all around but the best part was the bird sanctuary located across the street .There is a 2km loop around the lake and many birds if you are into that sort of thing.I spent many an enjoyable moment identifying birds I had not seen before as well as seeing old favorites.

Walter has 6 well behaved Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs who who were a joy to be around.Most of the time they lounged around with an occasional run around the spacious front yard but many times were out of sight

The house was large and I really did feel like I was staying at someones house as a friend,not as a guest since the whole downstairs was available for use

The only negative,if you will, and that was out of Walters control ,was the traffic getting to the airport and returning back from Joburg and points north.Apparently there is a small stretch of highway that has been under construction for years with no end in sight.
This in not anything that would keep me from staying there but a factor if you are going to have a car so extra time must be allotted

I plan on visiting SA again in the near future and I will definitely return to Impangele

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

The Impangele Guesthouse was a superb choice for our stay in Johannesburg! Walter , the owner, could not have been more attentive. He picked us up from the airport, cooked for us (excellent meals) and entertained us with his humor and lively conversations. Quiet location, spotless, and comfortable. I was traveling with my two teenagers and felt safe and well taken care of. Our guide for our safari picked us up from the Impangele Guesthouse which was very convenient. Anyone staying with Walter will be spoiled and pampered. Lucky us to have found the perfect place to stay while in Johannesburg, if only it could have been longer!
Diane, Jonathan and Olivia
U.S.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warelynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at Impangele for 2 nights following a safari in Botswana. It is a beautiful house in lovely grounds, across the road from a lake with many very interesting birds, including flamingoes. Our host, Walter, could not do enough for us and we felt completely at home. (His meals were pretty good too!) His six dogs were very friendly and it was nice to be welcomed by them when we had been out! Definitely the place to stay in Jo'burg!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benoni hotels
0.9 mi away
Outlook Lodge
Outlook Lodge
#1 of 39 in Benoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
0.5 mi away
Africa Paradise - Airport Guest Lodge and Travel Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Amanzi Boutique Guesthouse
2.4 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele

Property: Impangele
Address: 8 The Drive | Westdene, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse 15 min from Johannesburg International airport. Quiet and safe environment next to a small lake, with over 200 bird varieties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Impangele Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing