We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again a fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impangele

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Impangele
Ranked #12 of 39 Benoni B&B and Inns
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Once again a fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at Impangele 18 months ago and had such a wonderful time that it was our immediate choice on our return to South Africa. This suburb of Johannesburg is safe and quiet with excellent facilities. It is also very easy to access from the airport - just 20 minutes drive. Impangele is on a beautiful lake and is a fabulous big house with huge gardens. Walter is, as everyone states, the perfect host and makes it his mission to ensure that your stay is enjoyable (without being intrusive). He seems prepared to do anything to help and drove us around Soweto and Johannesburg on a half day tour which we will never forget and at a cost which is a fraction of the advertised tours. He arranged a BBQ for us all on one night and we had a great time meeting other guests. The Guest House provides all comforts and the rooms are large and well appointed with excellent bathrooms. Once again we had a fabulous stay and cannot praise Impangele, Walter and his staff highly enough. I don't know why one would stay anywhere else in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: All rooms equally high quality - just leave it to Walter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to flying out of the country. Walter was a perfect host. The house was fascinating. I believe the dogs got a lot out of taking us for a walk in the morning. Very convenient for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here one night before going to the Kruger park and liked it a lot. We immediately felt at ease and Walter is a very amiable guy who is a natural host at the same time. The dogs are great fun and nice to have around. In the evening we enjoyed the best Braai we had in South- Africa in the company of Walter and other guests. Would love to come back to stay longer and discuss and drink some more "Pinotage" with Walter :-).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huib D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The only reason not to stay here is if you can't be around dogs. The location is great - across the street from a great bird sanctuary in a nice neighborhood with quick access to the airport. The owner is a 6 ona scale of 1-5. Super guy, very helpful and fun to chat with. Best part for us, though, was getting loved on by the seven beautiful Rhodesian Ridgebacks.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocNau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

After 2 years we came back to South Africa for golfing and safari and again we spent two excellent stop overs at Impangege B&B. Walter (the owner) is a ecxcellent host. He serves every day a excellent breakfast and twice we could order a Braai (barbeque) for dinner which was also very delicious and the steaks were grilled to perfection. We highly recommend this charming B&B. Walter we thank you very much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGSA, Owner at Impangele, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I needed to stay somewhere over night before we went on to Kruger. When I looked up where to stay, I saw that this place had dogs, and that sold me (animal lover) But what truly made us so happy and comfortable was Walter. He is a great guide, knows basically everything there is to know about the area (politics, gentrification, property value, sports, you name it!) We actually invited him to have dinner with us and he joined. We would call him a friend after our brief stay there. The dogs are huge but very friendly and non intrusive. And the actually accommodations were a perfect mix of luxury, yet still 'homey'. We even went on a walk around the bird sanctuary the morning of our departure, and it was like a little slice of heaven. You feel very safe, the neighborhood is ridiculous! So fun to look at all the different styled houses, and we just had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room, really nice and woke up to a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eforelyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We ( fam of 5 with 3 children of 16-20 yrs) had a very short stay in J'burg of less than a day on our way to Botswana and were very pleased with the guesthouse and host Walter by his great hospitalitiy. He picked us up from the hotel and overloaded us with a lot of information on South Africa and J'burg and was pleased to give us a brief tour on J'burg.
The house lay in a very nice area and we felt really at home, however at this time of year it was a pity that it was a bit to shilly to use the pool, which would have made our stay even more perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benoni hotels
0.5 mi away
Africa Paradise - Airport Guest Lodge and Travel Centre
0.9 mi away
Outlook Lodge
Outlook Lodge
#1 of 39 in Benoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Amanzi Boutique Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele

Property: Impangele
Address: 8 The Drive | Westdene, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse 15 min from Johannesburg International airport. Quiet and safe environment next to a small lake, with over 200 bird varieties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Impangele Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing