We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best option near Johannesburg International Airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outlook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outlook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 39 Benoni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best option near Johannesburg International Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

On my first visit I was greeted at the airport arrivals hall by a punctual and friendly lodge shuttle driver. In less thatn 10 mins I arrived at Outlook Lodge situated in a leafy suburb in a gated security estate. The lodge has a warm friendly atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and I had a great nights sleep without any traffic noise or barking dogs. A few minutes walk away, were a number of restaurants where I had dinner.

I won,t stay anywhere else when using the airport. Outlook Lodge is the perfect ovenight stay for me and the host is extremely helpfull and will go out of his way to help you. For what they charge it is a real bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    68
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
132
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you're coming to Joburgh to visit the Kruger then the logical place to stay is Outlook Lodge. What a delightful place. Francios (sorry if the spelling isn't correct) is a great host and cooks up a mean cuisine!
Tip: Self driving to The Kruger: Fly to Joburgh; get Outlook Lodge to pick you up at the airport; drive with guide to Kruger in van (about 6 hours); rent car in Skukuza (in the Kruger); self drive Kruger; drop car in Skukuza; get a ride back with Outlook Lodge; stay the night and catch your plane home the next day. Easy peasy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked with Outlook as our pick up and drop off location for a 4 day safari trip. We were met by Francois, who is a gratious host and catered to our needs. The meals were great, the rooms were clean and decorated nicely. The pool was wonderful as well as the grounds were gorgeous. I will not hesitate to book there again, should we come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank erintate79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Level Contributor
396 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

With an overnight flight to Jberg, we opted to stay the day/night in Jberg before departing for Kreuger. This was a very wise choice with safari schedules beginning at 5am in the Kreuger in December!

Outlook Lodge picked us up at the airport, we arrived & our rooms were ready by mid-morning so we could nap before eating. They drove us to & from a local restaurant (Mozambik...it was SOOOO good!) for lunch, we also bought water at the Shell station next to the restaurant, we returned to Outlook where a walk to the nearby bird sanctuary was recommended...where we saw flamingoes & other birds in the wild in the middle of a large pond in the neighborhood!

Francois was incredibly helpful & his cappuccino muffins at breakfast were one of my son's favorite memories! We're hoping to get the recipe! Breakfast was guest-house style & I'm quite certain Francois would have catered to whatever you wanted if he had it available...but we're pretty easy going & were pleased with the offerings.

We stayed in 2 interconnecting rooms where the beds & bed linens were very comfortable & very clean. The bathrooms are in some need of cleaning up with mildew in some areas...but this is probably on their list of maintenance items that can't be taken care of in December because everyone goes on holiday for a month! Their maintenance will occur when everyone returns in mid-January. Towels were nice, clean & soft. Toiletries were the disposable hotel kind & since this is more of a Guest House, refillable permanent containers would really be a good choice...more eco-friendly, more economical for the owners, and more 'luxurious' for those staying...especially if nice products were used in the refills rather than store generics.

Our stay here was very nice & comfy..I don't know that the location is ideal for Jberg touring or shopping, but it was perfect for a rest stop & we would recommend it to others & stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: We were the only ones there the night we stayed, so it was perfectly quiet...there aren't very m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,081 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A unique place to stay near airport, and ideal to start Kruger safari from. A large home in a nice area, walkable to restaurants and a bird sanctuary. Rooms are good but this is not a modern sterile hotel rather you feel comfortable here. The TV is adequate and wifi free but limited areas of reception. Your host is wonderful he makes the resort from wonderful breakfasts to sometimes cooking a delicious dinner (I am not sure how often he does that but one night made a chicken dinner and another day just a requested sand which because I had a cold. If u need something just ask. U also meet a lot of guests from all over the world. So a place that is different in a great way to call a base.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose this place as we had booked a safari to the Kruger park with Outlook Safari, a company run by Francois, the lodge's owner. The lodge is close to the airport and Francois arranged for us to be collected at the airport, taken to the lodge to freshen up and start our vacatiuon in SA with a guided tour of Jo'burg and Soweto. In the 2 evenings we stayed there he drove us to the restaurant area close to the lodge and we saw him cooking a delicious dinner for some other guests. The rooms are spacious and the garden is amazing. We couldnt use the swimming pool as it was still a bit chilly. I'd like to thank Francois once again for all his help. He is very kind and makes his best to make your trip special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millenniumbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here in December 2011 as part of a package to visit Kruger NP with Outlook Safaris. My experience was perfect for someone who had never been to Joburg before.

The Outlook Lodge organised to have someone meet be at Joburg airport, who helped me with my luggage and transported me between the airport and the lodge.

The rooms are very big, clean and very comfortable. As someone who had just attended the crazy world of the UN Climate Change conference in Durban in the preceding weeks, the Outlook Lodge was the ideal place to stay to unwind and relax.

I always felt very safe at the hotel, as it located in a well secured neighbourhood. The crew from Outlook Safaris met me at the lodge and dropped me back of again when my safari was finished.

As others have mentioned, Francois is an excellent host, making you feel welcome and always available to help you out. He even helped me to get a pizza delivered to the lodge!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
5.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
9.2 mi away
African Rock Hotel
African Rock Hotel
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 65 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge

Property: Outlook Lodge
Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Outlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing