We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
Nearby Hotels
$76
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Benoni(Benoni)(Great Value!)
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Birchwood Hotel(Boksburg)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europrime Hotel(Boksburg)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
248
79
11
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
79
11
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird sanctuaryclose to the airportgated communitykruger parkvery reasonable pricecape townmade us feelnext morningstay there againsouth africaother guestsnature reserveminute drivebreakfast and dinnerlong flighttambo airportexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 348 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We found the Outlook Lodge to be an excellent and surprising choice as we visited from Vancouver, Canada. Its a beautiful old mansion with lovely grounds. Its in a gated community of large properties. Its quiet and the service is excellent. We highly recommend it for a real break near the auirport in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimbagirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

So, my husband and I thought that we had our trip all planned out, but we didn't. Our travels started out with a three day Kruger Safari which was booked with Outlook. Outstanding! What's not to love about wild animals running around? The safari was amazing (thanks for the really amazing fleece-lined ponchos -- best ever!). Our guide, Belinda was outstanding -- knowledgable, funny, extremely helpful, and a very gracious hostess. The safari part of our vacation was better than we expected, and the people from Oulook made that happen (darn you leopards, where were you hiding?).

The next part of our vacation was at Mount Sheba. On paper it was pretty close to Pilgrim's Rest, one of the stops on the tour back to Jo'burg, so we decided that we would get off the tour there, and make our way to Mount Sheba. No big deal, right? Apparently it is a big deal, because Mount Sheba is in the actual middle of nowhere -- literally 10 miles away from anything on a miserable road only suitable for a four-wheel drive vehicle, or goat. So, unbeknownst to us, alternative arrangements were made, and instead of just dropping us off in Pilgrim's Rest, and wishing us good luck, Robert met us at breakfast and drove us out of Kruger and drove out to Mount Sheba.

Robert was amazing! The man has forgotten more about the animals of South Africa than I have ever known. And he really and truly has animal magnetism. The animals were everywhere! He was our personal tour guide for the trip to Mount Sheba, and shared his knowledge of South Africa with us -- social, cultural, and political. Also, knowing how remote we were and understanding that we were truly stranded, Robert arranged to have us picked up at the end of our time at Mount Sheba (aka the middle of nowhere), and take us to the Lodge.

There are no words to describe the relief we felt when the van, with Willie driving, pulled up to take us to the Lodge. Which, by the way, was amazing! Quaint, quiet, and quality would be the words used to describe it. So comfortable and welcoming -- a pleasure to just sit back and relax.

Francois was outstanding. He really knows how to make vistors to the Lodge feel that they are the most important people in the room -- our happiness and needs were his top priority. Francois' hospitality, wealth of knowledge, and love of his job were evident, and made our stay at Outlook Lodge a highlight of our trip. And the two dogs (who helped us through our canine withdrawal) made the trip that much more enjoyable.

As well as rescuing us from Mount Sheba, the staff arranged to get us to the train station the next afternoon to take the Premiere Class train from Jo'burg to Cape Town (an under-publicized gem that allows you to see South Africa from the comfort of your own compartment).

The entire staff -- Robert, Crystale, Steven, Willie, Francios -- turned what would have surely been a disaster into a stellar example of South African hospitality, and made our vacation that much better, and memorable. Outlook Africa will be our number-one recommendation for anyone who wants to know what's really good about South Africa. Thanks so much! Tricia and Gerry Shulist

Room Tip: Our room was really three rooms -- bedroom, sitting room, and washroom. More room than we needed, but really made us feel very special.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

flying from Washington, D.C.. We needed a night to make our connection next morning to Walvis Bay, Namibia, and Francois made it a good stay. True, the shower dribbled and was cool and the TV didn't work, but a great bed along with Francois' warmth and welcome made up for it. Scrumptious breakfast -- EXCELLENT. Our worry about being in Africa melted away. Great and secure place to stay when flying out of JNB. Cannot help but smile when I recall the sign over the bar -- "Free Beer -- Tomorrow"...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is MUCH better than staying at an airport hotel and almost as convenient. All the previous comments about the hospitality of Francois are accurate. The house is comfortable and the neighborhood peaceful, with a very good nearby restaurant (Mozambik). The free breakfast provided was ample and tasty. Rooms are perhaps not quite as luxurious as suggested on their website, but they are "homey" and comfortable. We rented a car as we were on our way to Kruger, and had no problems finding the lodge.

My only word of caution is that water pressure is better in some rooms than others (we were travelling wtih our kids and had 2 rooms). So if a "strong" shower is important to you, I'd suggest asking an advance for a room with a good shower!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the lodge before and after our safari at Kruger. Francois was wonderful. He arranged a specialized tour and tour guide for us when we arrived. He prepared and served our dinners and breakfast and was very gracious. We couldn't have asked for anyone more helpful. We needed an electrical adapter and didn't have time to get to a store before leaving for our Kruger safari so Francois loaned us his personal adapter for the duration of our safari - so helpful! Water pressure in the shower was a little weak, but we discovered that was quite common in South Africa. We weren't quite prepared for the cold weather and limited heating, but the room had a full supply of blankets and was very clean. We were made to feel very comfortable and welcome. It was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews